We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Standard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Standard to your Saves list
Cape Standard
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Romney Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Special
Ranked #26 of 154 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Cape Standard. The hotel is located in a safe and convenient location, it takes about 15-20 mins to walk down to the V &A and before dark it's perfectly safe to do so. A taxi back to the hotel from the v and a costs about 30-40 rand. Breakfasts were fantastic with a typical buffet of cereal, pastries coffee ect as well as the option of a yummy cooked breakfast! All the staff are extremely helpful and service is excellent. Can not recommend enough!! 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    66
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
178
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A very nice and charming guesthouse with few rooms that makes it quiet and enjoyable to stay and feel as if you were home. Also very well located it is a highly recommended hotel if you get to go to Cape Town.
I also wanted to mention the lovely Margot that told us what to do at any time and made up our trip 5 days ahead from Cape Town to Port Elisabeth telling us were to stay and activities to do. We did really appreciate her generosity, thank you!! And also David's sympathy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Where to start? Chic, beautiful, Calm... perfection! The rooms are spacious very clean and beautiful! Well decorated, modern and pure!
The proximity to the Waterfront makes it a perfect location to visit Cape Town.
The staff is Amazing! So friendly and helpful and so professional! They make you feel like familly.
Margot was great! So helpful with everything, she was always available and a wonderful planner! arringing all our bookings and figuring out the impossible for us! even took care of a problem with my rental car so that it wouldn't affect our schedule! just plain amazing!!!
We truly loved it!!!!!
Thanks so much for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My sister, Jennifer and my brother-in-law, Bob............and I had such a wonderful visit to Cape Standard abode!! David and Margot........and their team couldn't have been more personable, helpful........and delightful!! They called for taxis, reservations to wonderful meals..........and gave us suggestions every step of the way!! We had everything at our fingertips!! I would rate Cape Standard an excellent bed and breakfast property..........and the decor is particularly restful with lots of "pizzazz"!! When we came "home" to Cape Standard in the early evening.......there was sherry and nuts and crackers to greet us........not to mention newspapers to help us all connect to the world!! It was the end of a perfect adventure for all of us!

Linda Edgar
Santa Barbara, California

Room Tip: I loved Room 4!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Cape Standard - and we are fussy about our accommodations! It's a lovely place, a short distance from the main part of the city, but really close to the beach. It has a great relaxed feel. David and Rudy were wonderful hosts and very helpful and gracious. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This bed and breakfast was one of the high points of our delightful visit to Cape Town. The facilities are all modern and attractive, the decor demands your attention with its artwork and other touches, but most of all, the staff are wonderful. We even chose to spend half a morning chatting by the fire with the owner, David, who shared fascinating insights about Cape Town. His manager, Margot, solved problems for us just slightly before we even understood they could be problems--making reservations, inquiring about hours, arranging transportation, and advising us on any intricacies in our plans to make them simple. Breakfast is sumptuous, and, at least in the Cape Town winter, there's often a fire in the fire place. There are also decent places to eat within walking distance, although most of the time we couldn't resist David's superb recommendations in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

David and Margot were exceptionally helpful before our arrival and also during our stay. The other staff were superb and exceptionally helpful. We had arrived in ZA a few days before visiting Cape Town, and Margot/David kept in touch with us over email to facilitate our pick up from the airport. It actually made me feel like I am going home. I have stayed in big and small hotels and guesthouses in Europe and Asia but the superb hospitality at the Cape Standard was exceptional - they did everything to ensure that our stay in Cape is enjoyable. The most important thing that we greatly appreciated was that they never became over-bearing. And that's a BIG plus.

The room was excellent with wifi connectivity. The only thing missing was air-conditioning. The living room, the dining area and the garden at the back were great. We enjoyed our mornings and evenings very much. The breakfast was excellent and beautifully presented every morning. There was Champagne and fresh lime water available every evening in the living room. Their help desk is excellent, you can get in touch with Margot and David any time from your room or from the reception even if they are not in the guesthouse. I highly recommend Cape Standard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Standard

Address: 3 Romney Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Standard 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Cape Standard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Standard Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Standard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.