We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Abbey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse to your Saves list
Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 147 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at Abbey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We started off our trip to Cape Town by staying at Abbey Manor and we couldn't have had a better experience. Everything from the moment we arrived to the day we left was absolutely perfect. The service far exceeds that of a 5 star hotel and Judi and her staff go out of their way to make you feel just as you are at home. The Manor is perfectly located up top near table mountain with beautiful views of the city below. The breakfast served every morning is plentiful and delicious and the rooms are all beautifully decorated with their own uniqueness and character. I loved this place!! Thank you Judi

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
193
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at Abbey Manor for a short week in March 2013. I was there on business and it was extremely short notice (3 days in advance). They did not have a room available for the entire duration of my stay, however they were able to house me in a neighbouring guesthouse for one night. The service was excellent, as was the breakfast. The rooms were very nice (I stayed in two different ones due to the overnight switch), both with an excellent view of Cape Town and table mountain.

The Oranjezicht neighbourhood seemed very nice and is only a short drive away from the center of town and all of its restaurants.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Abbey Manor and would choose to stay with them on future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to this lovely Guest house. Great Position over looking the bay and at the rear a fantastic view of the mountain. Nice quiet road but within easy walk to the Waterfront-though we like to taxi back if its hot. Short distance to bus tour stop outside Mount Nelson Hotel, and easy ride to Camps Bay. The Guest House itself is owner run and Judi and her team are extremely caring and efficient and friendly. The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully decorated and they have a lovely terrace and pool. They are very happy for you to get food from the lovely deli at the corner of the road and bring it back to perhaps eat by the pool at lunchtime. They will recommend restaurants and book them and taxis and give very good advice. In short, we will be returning hopefully for longer next time

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in Cape Town for 4 nights in Feb. Judy gave us a really warm welcome and a very useful overview of the city - also addressing any concerns we had about personal safety. She was super helpful, making us hotel reservations and giving tonnes of recommendations..

The guesthouse is beautiful, really clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was lovely and they were really accomodating with changes to the menu. The views from the patio are fabulous, with Table Mountain looming over the grounds.

Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddevalla, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent service, lovely room, perfect breakfast, wonderful pool. Booking of private excursions and restaurant reservations. Is simply can´t be better.

Very helpful advices concerning excursions and booking of private tours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Despite our late booking, Abbey Manor was the absolute lucky draw for us. The beautiful old, but perfectly refurbished house is perfectly set on the slope of table Mountain, views in all directions are absolutely breathtaking. The roof top terrace tops it all. Judi and her friendly team are warm hearted hosts, always concerned about your wellbeing and making you feel at home immediately. Rooms are gigantic in size, with classic luxury comfort , decorated with style and love for the detail. The breakfast is huge, with homemade muesli and fruit for the Healthies and the best omelette ever, the "Abbey Manor Foldover" - not to be missed. Would have loved to stay a little longer, relax at the poolside, enjoy the hospitality and just chatting to Judi. She is a wonderful person.
This guesthouse definitely deserves full recommendation marks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Abbey Manor is situated immediately below Table Mountain in one of the safest and most accessible parts of the city. The views looking up at the mountain and out across the bay are breathtaking. Parking is easy and safe. The house has great charm and the service and friendly atmosphere were exactly right. It is quiet, comfortable, has its own pool with sunchairs, the breakfasts were superb and we couldn't have found a better place to spend a week. In addition it is an easy drive to the good restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: The two cottages in the garden, one alongside the pool are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse

Address: 3 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Manor is a luxury guesthouse set high on the foothills of Table Mountain, overlooking the splendor of Cape Town. Centrally located, Abbey Manor offers sumptuous rooms - each individually decorated - offering dramatic views of the city, ocean, or majestic mountains, and cater to the highest level of comfort. Offering free WiFi Internet connection, gourmet breakfast, every room air-conditioned and unique, secluded solar heated swimming pool, airport pickup and drop off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse Hotel Cape Town Central
Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.