We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in Cape Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Cape Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Cape Sun to your Saves list
Southern Sun Cape Sun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Indulgence Package
Ranked #39 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great base in Cape Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Centrally located, upmarket hotel makes a great base to explore Cape Town. It was especially well geared for the Two Oceans marathon with the hotel offering a free shuttle to and from the event as well as free foot massages for athletes afterwards. Great breakfasts every morning to suit any taste as well as friendly staff who went the extra mile. The valet service for parking your car was very convenient.

Room Tip: The hotel is a high rise, so definitely ask for the upper levels to make the most of the views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Maeson M
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We always aim to take great care of our guests, even with something as small as a foot massage. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    121
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
84
17
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Sun over the Argus weekend 2013 and received outstanding service from everyone. We were greeted warmly and early check in was no problem. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Although it was a very busy weekend the service were great and the buffet breakfast was awesome, with some extra special touches for the cyclist taking part in the Argus.
We stayed on the 30th floor and had a beautiful mountain side room that was very clean and spacious. The views from the glass paneled elevator is really awesome!
The hotel is really very central and with a shuttle service running to and from the Waterfront it really made it a pleasure.
Linen, pillows and bed so comfy! Nothing to fault.
We will definitely be back

Room Tip: Higher floors. Room 3013 really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear LeizelW
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

Your compliments is much appreciated and we are so glad that you enjoyed all the extras for the Argus. We enjoy taking care of all our guests and hope to welcome you back to the Cape Sun before the Argus in 2014.

Kind regards,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for 2 days. Could not fault it at all. Received lovely Fruit Basket, beds turned over at night, rooms clean. Staff very friendly and helpfull. It's very well situated and very close to Waterfront.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met your approval. We hope that we will be your Hotel provider of choice the next time you stay in Cape Town.

Warm regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for the 2013 Argus. Hotel staff and management really went the extra mile in making our stay as cycle friendly as possible.Personal are always at hand with a smile.

Will I be staying here for Argus 2014...You Bet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to rate the Southern Sun Cape Sun.

Your compliments is much appreciated and we look forward in welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager

e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were here for 4 nights during New Year's Eve. Very busy at the time, but there was good service.
The rooms were clean. Good space. Beautiful views.
The staff were very friendly.
There is a shuttle service to the harbourfront area which is helpful.
Overall- nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on the Cape Sun.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services was of benefit to you. We hope that you will choose us as your service provider of choice the next time you visit Cape Town.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.

Firstly, the hotel is in a great location, right next to Long Street with great bars and nightlife.

I travel a lot with my job, usually staying in 4 and 5 star accommodation, i would say that Cape Sun is in my top hotels in terms of service. The staff were proactively helpful from my arrival to my check out.

Also, the room service food quality if very good. Usually it's a little hit and miss with 4 star hotels.

The ONLY negative point with this hotel was the lack of free internet. I know in South Africa, the majority of hotels still charge for internet. Being a seasoned travelled, i view this as a basic necessity. As an absolute minimum, there should be free internet in the lobby.

Apart from this minor point, i thought this hotel was excellent and i would recommend to and traveller, business or family.

Room Tip: If you order room service, the Ploughmans platter is delicious!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to do a tripadvisor review.

Your compliments is very much appreciated and we are ecstatic that you enjoyed our Cape hospitality. We are very proud of our Hotel and want everyone to enjoy it as much as we do.

I hope to personally welcome you back to the Cape Sun in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,
Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed in many other "business" hotels all over the world & believe that the Cape Sun maintains the expected standard. My room was on the upper floors (25th I think) and other than an empty mini bar (probably need to request for it to be stocked) I could not really fault it. The Hotel did not leave me in awe, but I don't think this is what this particular hotel aspires to do. It is a no fuss, professional & well managed establishment. One thing that does stand out (and a lot of superior hotels can take note..) the service at the Cape Sun is EXCELLENT! Every operational layer in this hotel truly reflects South African hospitality. It has been some time since I have visited an establishment where the staff really do seem to love what they do & proud to be there. That alone will bring me back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene C, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Sun Cape Sun, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear valued guest
Thank you for taking the tiem to do a review on the Cape Sun.

Your compliments is much appreciated and we are ecstatic that you enjoyed our true Cape hospitality. We pride ourselves in our excellent service and hope that everyone gets to experience the Cape Sun and Cape Town.

I look forward to personally welcome you back to our Hotel in the not to distant future.

Take care,

Charlene Campbell
Guest Relations Manager
e: charlene.campbell@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Cape Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Cape Sun

Address: Strand Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Cape Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of where it’s all happening, and with magnificent views of Cape mountains and harbour, the four star Southern Sun Cape Sun is ideal for visitors who want to experience one of the most beautiful cities in the world. The luxury and elegance of Southern Sun Cape Sun lies in the centre CBD, and is complimented by spectacular views over Table Mountain, Robben Island, Table Bay and the spectacular Green Point Stadium. Business travelers are mere minutes away from meetings and a shuttle to the popular Victoria & Alfred Waterfront provides convenient access to a range of restaurants, wine bars and offers great appeal to holiday makers in search of an indulgent escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Cape Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Cape Sun Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cape Town
Southern Sun Cape Sun Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Cape Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.