We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed everyday at Welgelegen.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welgelegen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Welgelegen to your Saves list
Welgelegen
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 4 Pay 3
New Jersey
Top Contributor
826 reviews 826 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
1,282 helpful votes 1,282 helpful votes
“We enjoyed everyday at Welgelegen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very beautiful and friendly inn with nicely appointed rooms. Daily breakfast offered variety of choices and eggs prepared to order, coffee and roibos tea. One can enjoy eating in the dinning room or outdoors in a small courtyard. The sitting room and dinning room are elegantly appointed. The common rooms like the fireplace room were decorated in white African style as they call it. Our party consisted of three generations -but no real kids- and everybody enjoyed the place. We had our own arrangement for sightseeing but the area seemed safe and walkable, the owners friendly, eager to help advice.

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the Table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
168
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two nights at Welgelegen recently and would highly recommend it to friends visiting Cape Town. It is very well located in the "Gardens" area and our room (number 9) had a fantastic view of Table Mountain with a balcony which was perfect for sitting and reading a book at the end of a busy day or in the early morning. The service was excellent, extremely friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The decor is stylish and yet homely and you are really made to feel that you can treat it as home. Breakfast was delicious and there were lots of nice touches, such as an honesty bar, complimentary biscuits and nice soaps/products in the bathroom. Kloof Street is easily walkable (by day) which is also a bonus and it doesn't take long to get to the beaches either. We loved it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Welgelegen Guest House was the first place we stayed for our honeymoon in South Africa. We were made to feel welcome the second we walked into the beautiful living room. After a long flight from London and a rainy early morning arrival to Cape Town we were knackered. The staff immediately went to prepare our room, even though we were four hours too early for check-in. The staff also offered us a complimentary breakfast to warm us up while we waited for the room. The breakfasts were outstanding. Their chef would pop out to your table and ask what we would like for breakfast and she would cook to order. This was in addition to the wonderful buffet of cold meats, fresh fruit, cereal, home cooked bread and very fresh fruit juices. It was the perfect way to set yourself up for a day in Cape Town.
The rooms were beautiful with no expense spared on detail. We had a great room with a patio overlooking the inner courtyard. Another great touch is the port and homemade biscuits left out in the living room in the evening. A very pleasant way to either start or help finish off the evening.
On the first night we wanted to dine close to Welgelegen and the receptionist recommended trying nearby Kloof Street. However instead of just reeling off directions and names of restaurants she walked us both up to Kloof Street to describe the best restaurants and point them out.
The Welgelegen Guest House was the perfect start to our honeymoon. We have highly recommended it to our friends. If we return to Cape Town, we will be staying at Welgelegen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were delighted with our choice of accomodation in Cape Town. The house itself is beautiful and has been decked out with a real eye for detail and real flair. There were a number of lovely touches we came across while there...complimentary port in the room, the homemade biscuits, the toiletry products in the room and the chocolate and weather report for the next day were all great.

The team of Fiona, Coleen and Anneen were also amazingly helpful and knowledgeable about the area and nothing was too much trouble for them...taxis, restaurants and day trips got sorted no problems. One of the things we did was go on a day trip down to Cape Point, as recommended by Fiona with a guide she recommended (Zaki). He was fantastic - friendly, knowledgeable (as a former history teacher he really helped us to understand what was going on) and fun to be with for the day.

Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were 3 couples and had rooms in the "annexe" at the back. This is actually another large "house". There is an adjoining courtyard with plunge pool and sun loungers. We had room 11 on the ground floor with views of Table Mountain which rises up to the south.The breakfast was fabulous - a big range of fresh fruitsalad, hot food cooked to order etc and fantatic service. Our superior room had complimentary half bottle of port, a huge and long bath, 2 sinks, shower, fridge with fresh milk, tea/coffee, safe, TV. We also had extras - it was chilly one night and in our bed were two hot water bottles! Also chocolate on the pillow each night and a daily forecast each day in the room.
The 2 adjoining lounges are well equipped with comfortable chairs/sofas, a large library and complimentary port in the evening.
We really can't praise highly enough the fantastic service we got from the staff and from the ladies on the front desk/office. The advice and support was second to none. I left an umbrella in a nearby restaurant and the next day it was back on my bedside table. What more can I say but brilliant and well done to all who work in Welgellegan

Room Tip: The back of the annexe gives Table Mountain views - but room prices probably higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very friendly boutique hotel, beautifully decorated and with comfortable public rooms well suppled with books and elegant decor, it impressed us by providing all the services we'd hoped for and some we had not expected. The staff advised on local restaurants, booked taxis and gave helpful hints on security. There seemed to be a positive attitude to staff at all levels, which was repaid in the level of service provided. No praise could be too high for the breakfast, both in content and service.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for de luxe rooms although all are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsmore, England
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, especially breakfast. The staff and owner are very helpful and our room and bathroom were reasonably spacious with everything you might need. However, having stayed at another local guesthouse, we felt this one was in need of updating and refreshing in some areas. Our bathroom was dated and had a fitted carpet. We thought some of the carpets (sisal) were worn in the hall and on the stairs and paint was flaking on some woodwork. The bed was extremely comfortable, however, and the bed linen was good quality. Our bedroom was decorated with quite dark colours,in keeping with the age of the guest house, but looked dated when compared to the light and airy, design led, interiors we have experienced elsewhere. The lounge area was lovely, however. In summary, this is a very competent guesthouse, in a very good location, with excellent knowledgeable staff. It is not luxurious, more homely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welgelegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen

Address: 6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welgelegen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welgelegen - an urban sanctuary in the heart of Cape Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Welgelegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welgelegen Hotel Cape Town Central
Welgelegen Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welgelegen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.