We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welgelegen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Welgelegen to your Saves list
Welgelegen
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago Suburbs
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We, four college friends, started our fabulous trip to Africa at the Welgelegen. We spent three nights and had a wonderful time. Everyone was was so pleasant and helpful. The rooms had a lot of space and the bathrooms were fabulous. We had a view of table mountain from our bathroom! Our other room had a lovely porch. Breakfast was outstanding. We walked to the waterfront our first day in Cape Town. Very doable but a bit of a hike. They are very helpful with dinner reservations.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
184
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our family spent 5 nights at the Welgelegan and loved it. The staff is welcoming and helpful, the guest rooms and common rooms are beautiful and it quickly feels like home - only better! We loved everything about it and would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Welgelegen was simply wonderful. The location is great, the staff is amazing, and everyone was so helpful in providing suggestions and bookings. They leave chocolate on your pillow with a weather report, and warm water bottles to keep your feet warm on cold nights. They even leave a cookie jar in your room for snacking! The room was beautiful, as well as the view of Table Mountain, when it wasn't cloudy. We were able to walk to many restaurants and shopping areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a perfect place to stay in Cape Town. In a beautiful neighborhood ("the Gardens") right at the base of Table Mountain and close to all of the restaurants and bars on Kloof Street. The hotel itself is really lovely. The decor is amazing and the breakfast was delicious - you can order anything you want, along with a buffet of pastries, fruit, yogurt etc. And the staff was so helpful - always happy to give us advice and recommendations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Welgelegen will remain as my top Guest House in South Africa, and possible the world. The decor, the service, the tranquility, the linens, the bath products, the breakfast, and the courtyard bring a smile to my face. I have already and will continue to recommend this to anyone I meet who's heading to Cape Town. Stunning place and a great value for it's superior accomdation and service. Perfect location in the city but remains quiet and set apart.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on thames
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Welgelgen for four nights at the start of our honeymoon and we could not have asked for a better start! The staff were extremely helpful suggesting restaurants, booking trips and generally assisting where they could. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the little touches really set the guesthouse apart such as port, homemade cookies and a hot water bottle and the weather report in the evening. The breakfasts were delicious and there was a huge choice which really set you up for the day ahead. We would recommend for anyone visiting Cape Town.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My granddaughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the lovely Welgelegen Guest House, even if we didn't learn how to say it correctly. The house is beautifully appointed and the staff led by the gracious Fionna, is amazing. We saw Table Mountain from our room, appreciated the delicious full breakfast and all the amenities that are thoughtfully provided.
Be prepared to use taxis to get to most places; but it's worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welgelegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welgelegen

Address: 6 Stephen Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welgelegen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Welgelegen Boutique Hotel - an urban sanctuary in the heart of Cape Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Welgelegen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welgelegen Hotel Cape Town Central
Welgelegen Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welgelegen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.