We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lion's Head” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lion's Head

Lion's Head
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$60*
and up
Cape Point Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lion's Head”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Apparently it looked like a lion's head when the first explorers arrived from the sea? It is a good walk up to the top, but we chose to walk around it, ending near where we parked.
It was about an hour's hike, stopping along the way to admire the view over Cape Town city and the coastline and the rest of the mountain as it disappears towards Cape Point. You get a good idea of the layout of the city and peninsula.
Many locals hike to the top after work or on moonlit nights. Do it!!
Oh yes, it is very safe but don't let valuables lay around in your car.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank marinda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HAVE TO GO UP THERE!! YOU MUST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went there with my brother and my mother. Mother did not make it till the top but we did. And man.. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G !! And so much fun to clim up. Good work out! also. Use sun block otherwise you will burn alive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nickdors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not an easy walk, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Walked up here for the sunset. A good walk that isn't too physically tough but the scramble near the top tests the nerves slightly!
At the summit it was surprisingly busy and someone had brought music to spoil the occasion but it was still an unbelievable view.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Iconic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

What would a trip to Cape Town be without seeing the Lion's Head? Take you time smell the roses and do take in the view.

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A good walk with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We walked around Lions Head, but did not climb to the peak, which was a rather steep climb. The views of the beaches and mountains running down to the Cape Point, were very good, and you could see Robben Island in the distance. This is a fairly easy walk around the Head, and is worth the effort just for the views. You could easily combine this with a visit to Table Top Mountain. Roadside parking is available.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion's Head also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Lion's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing