We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very colourful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Beach

St. James Beach
Main road, St James, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Improve this listing
Attraction details
St Asaph
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very colourful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Not a lot you can say that hasn't already been said, the tidal pool take you back to your childhood and the brightly coloured beach huts are like something from an age gone by.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quaint beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was such a Quaint little beach, we almost missed it as we drove by. But I love the feeling here with the buildings! So colorful

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langebaan, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Past Memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I just love this place which seems still to look the same as in the early 1900's. So full of character.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect place for young children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have been going to St James Beach since I was a small child. The tidal pool is the best place to take small children because they are protected from the waves - it is a great place for them to start learning about the sea and enjoying sea water. The water here is also warmer, so the children can stay in longer. There is lots to do at the beach besides swimming - the children will LOVE the rock pools at low tide. If the South Easter is blowing in Cape Town, you will usually be able to enjoy St James because it is one of the more protected beaches on the False Bay coast. I had my daughter's 11th birthday on the beach in the late afternoon and none of the children wanted to go home. We ended up with the parents lazing on the beach, while the sun went down behind us and the kids swam and played in the pool - happy memories I will keep forever.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a lovely beach that is lovely and quiet in the morning. Also near the train station. There is a lovely change area as well as a wonderful tidal pool.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. James Beach also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to St. James Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.