We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love colour, you will love the Bo-Kaap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bo-kaap

Bo-kaap
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Improve this listing
Visit Bo-kaap like an insider
Top Rated
$100*
and up
Cape Malay Cultural Tour of Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: City walk sightseeing
Attraction details
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you love colour, you will love the Bo-Kaap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

what an amazing district with so much history. And all the colourful houses are really lovely to see. There are a few B&B's and coffee shops as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    98
    51
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bo-Kaap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I drive through the Bo-Kaap everyday. It is colorful, ever-changing and warms my heart. Pigeons, school kids and coffee shops are some of the daily scenes I pass on my way to work. Priceless.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss "Cooking in the Bokaap" with Andulela”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

About two weeks ago, I took this cooking tour in Cape Town and enjoyed it immensely! Our knowledgeable guide took us first to the Bokaap museum which gave us a bit of the history of the area and then we visited a spice shop which was wonderful. Then on to our cooking class in the home of a very charismatic member of this community. She was full of personality and made the experience so much fun for all of us - there were eight of us in the group. We made curried chicken and samosas, typical of Cape Malay cuisine. After learning, among other things, how to expertly fold the samosas into a triangle, we finally sat down and enjoyed the meal we had helped to prepare - a terrific and memorable experience!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Haas cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Was fantastic - great lunch , great service, great ambience amongst great art.

We had a great table for a reunion - we took a bottle of champagne and when that was done the staff went down the road to get us another. So helpful and sweet. The food was great and SO SO reasonably priced.
The kitchen is across the road and they have a cute outdoor area - just funky - dont miss if in cape town. loved the experience

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Colorful Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

It was interesting to see the colorfull houses and the mosque. The people there was really nice. We went at the afternoon and the sun orientation was not the best, maybe it is better during the morning. It is worth spending 20-30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bo-kaap also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bo-kaap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bo-kaap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.