We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it weren't for the view” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Table Mountain Aerial Cableway

Table Mountain Aerial Cableway
Tafelberg Road | Lower Cable Station, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 424 8181
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$66*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights
Type: Trams, Outdoors
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The best views of Cape Town are seen from the top of Table Mountain. The Cableway takes you to the summit in under 5 minutes and the cable car's rotating floor ensure that all visitors get a 360 degree aerial view of the city. The 65-passenger cable car runs from Tafelberg Road to the top of Table Mountain. To date the Cableway has transported more than 23 million visitors to the summit. 850 000 visitors from all over the world use the Cableway annually.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If it weren't for the view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Table Mountain itself is an absolute beauty & the view is phenomenal!! BUT the service from staff is absolutely appalling!! Service & quality of food at the Table Cafe was a complete dissapoinment and a let down of note. The cafe was dirty, food and drinks were outrageously overpriced, no food descriptions of what was avaliable and the cafe staff were anything but friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were dirty and could be smelt from a distance!! As a World Wonder, the service standards provided needs some serious attention as it is nothing but a poor show and embarrassment!! First time visitor.... I will return for the view ONLY!! And take note, their is no correct and clear communication with the photo packs being handed out for sale!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableMountainCa, Table Mountain Cableway at Table Mountain Aerial Cableway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are terribly sorry to hear about your bad experience here with us. Since this is not the type of service delivery we strive for, we will definitely take this up in our post-season discussions. We hope that your next visit will be a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,834
    570
    90
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Need to get lucky with the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived in Cape Town assuming getting up Table Mountain would be easy. The weather was beautiful in town but every time we tried to go up the mountain, the Cableway was shut due to high winds. You do need to be patient and work other things around it being open but we were rewarded on the last day with absolutely perfect conditions. After a long wait due to the cableway having being shut for the last 3 days, we eventually set off and it was definitely worth it. It's pretty vertical at the end but it's much more stable than other cablecars i've been on in the past so I was fine despite being a little nervous of cablecars in general.
The view at the top was fantastic as it was so clear and it really is the iconic view of Cape Town. It's not cheap though...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't hold on - The Floor Spins!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Its neat that the cable car spins so that you can't hold onto the side railings. (The spinning is slow, there's no risk of falling down and there are windows so no one falls over.)

But, Table mountain isn't high enough to really make the cable car ride memorable or worth it. I suggest hiking up this mountain and saving the cable car rides for Europe.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best thing to do in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The ride is almost to quick to enjoy! The old slow cable car was more scary but went much slower. At least the queues move faster now. The top of the mountain is best at sunrise or sunset. Can be very hot now.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Long wait, chaotic parking, but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Unfortunately we didn't book tickets in advance so we arrived at 12:00 on a busy holiday so a long wait was inevitable. We had to wait 30 minutes for the ticket office (mostly in the shade), then another 50 minutes for the cable-car in baking sun. Even if we had online tickets we would stil have had to wait for the cable-car though. The parking was chaotic - I don't understand why they haven''t built a car-park rather than relying on parallel parking along a narrow road. Anyway, we eventually got to the top and the setting and the views were truly spectacular. There is a reasonable self-service cafe at the top, but it was very disorganised and by the time we paid for our food it was cold. Based on my experience, my advice would be to buy tickets in advance, try to avoid busy times if possible (early morning and late afternoon are much quieter), but this is an opportunity not to be missed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TableMountainCa, Table Mountain Cableway at Table Mountain Aerial Cableway, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Note that since we are situated within a National Park, we are not allowed to build car parks. We are however looking into a shuttle service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table Mountain Aerial Cableway also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 

Been to Table Mountain Aerial Cableway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table Mountain Aerial Cableway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.