We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens

Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens
Rhodes Drive, Newlands | Private Bag X7, Claremont, Cape Town Central, South Africa
27-21-799-8899
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Situated on the eastern slopes of Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch is internationally acclaimed as one of the seven most magnificent botanical gardens in the world. The 528 hectares estate includes a cultivated garden and a nature reserve. The developed garden displays collections of southern African plants including many rare and endangered species. There are also visitor facilities in the garden including restaurants, a nursery, a gift shop, a bookshop and a permanent Zimbabwean stone sculpture exhibition.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had all sort of food, from Prego to Tangine Lamb, from bread to deserts and whole menu was very good. Waiters provide a kind attention and outdoors tables under trees are perfect to experience the gardens.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,136
    624
    130
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“wonderful spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

allow plenty of time for this visit. The Blue bus is a good way to get there and spend a few hours and then get back on later.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a must in your visit to Cape Town. My wife and I only had 3 days in Cape Town and would highly recommend this garden. We've been to quite a few Botanical Centers in the US, but nothing compares to Kirstenbosch. The minute you walk past the front doors, you realize you've made the right choice. The views are spectacular and remind you of a prehistoric time. There are great walking paths and a wide variety of plants. There are birds running around everywhere and a decent restaurant as well. If you want to get away from the crowd, choose a side path and feel like you're the only one there. We even saw a Lynx up close! Definitely worth the time and money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We'd allocated 2-3 hours here and wished we could have stayed much longer. So much to see we felt we didn't do it justice. I was particularly impressed by the variety of grasses and sedges, plants which I'd never really rated in the UK . The views from the top were lovely and there was a sereneness about the whole place which created a lovely atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Natural beauty at its best,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

An amazing location with Table Mountain behind it. You could grow weeds and it would still be stupendous! Slightly disappointed by the lack of colour in January but well worth a walk round. The shop is full of lovely items too,

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens to your Saves list