We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens

Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens
Rhodes Drive, Newlands | Private Bag X7, Claremont, Cape Town Central, South Africa
27-21-799-8899
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens like an insider
Top Rated
$72*
and up
Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Situated on the eastern slopes of Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch is internationally acclaimed as one of the seven most magnificent botanical gardens in the world. The 528 hectares estate includes a cultivated garden and a nature reserve. The developed garden displays collections of southern African plants including many rare and endangered species. There are also visitor facilities in the garden including restaurants, a nursery, a gift shop, a bookshop and a permanent Zimbabwean stone sculpture exhibition.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Kings Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great views and setting and an amazing assortment of plants. It would be easy to spend an entire day, but you can do it in 1/2 day.
Don't miss the resident owl family.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,344
    977
    182
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“so colourful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

walking between colourful flowers , bush and trees is a real pleasure for the eyes. non stop filming. spent an hour - could spend twice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best botanical garden ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Being an avid plant & garden lover, this has to be the best one I've seen in my years of travel. The backdrop of the majestic mountains and the array of indigenous plants were staggeringly beautiful. Probably the highlight of my ten day trip in Capetown. admission was very cheap and the photos we took on this glorious sunny day were spectacular. We were fortunate enough to have a free guided tour with a local volunteer, Jenny, which lasted two hours. her wealth and breadth of knowledge of all things botanical were mind boggling for someone who isn't a botanist. Our tour was at 10:00 am and we were the only two people on the tour. We only had two hours but could have spent the entire day there. A definite must see!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Kirstenbosch Gardens are always great to visit at any time of the year, although timing a visit to coincide with the proteas flowering is always well worth it. There are lots of paths meandering all over the gardens and you can find some great little hide-aways if you're looking for some quiet time. The views across Cape Town are stunning, especially if you make the effort to walk a little way up to the start of the Skeleton Gorge trail. I visit whenever I'm in town and I never get tired of it. There's also a very nice cafe at the bottom entrance.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Loved the Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you like botanic gardens you must do this one. It doesn't cost much and on a good day you can spend the whole morning on the grounds walking and enjoying the sunshine and beautiful plants and view. You can get here on the blue hop on hop off bus easily and continue the rest of your day on the beach like we did!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.