We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Suburbs

Southern Suburbs
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I live in the southern suburbs and let me tell you, it is extremely congested. Reckless drivers rule the roads and there is lots of petty crime. People forget that the southern suburbs are a bit bigger than just Constantia. Dont go out a night unless you are part of a very big group and only stay in the truly well known areas such as Claremont main road.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I LIVE THERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I live there! Have done so for the past 30 years there is evrything we need there.Schools,.churches.shops

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Live”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The highest concentration of some of the best schools in Africa. Relatively low crime rate. Great views of Table Mountain, the Hottentot Hollands, and Constantiaberg. Lots to do for young and old alike.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Life in the burbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Cape Town's Southern Suburbs are often knocked as being a bit quite and boring but living here I can assure you they are not!! You have a constant breath taking view of the back of Table Mountain and vineyards, restaurants and excellent shopping. Come and see!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I live here and I love it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Polite drivers, nice shops, nice homes, just a really nice place to be

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Suburbs also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Southern Suburbs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Suburbs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.