We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langa Township

Langa Township
Jan Smuts Drive, the N2 and the N7, Cape Town Central, South Africa
27-21-694-1895
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Langa Township like an insider
Top Rated
$45*
and up
Cultural Cape Town - Langa and Khayelitsha
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Langa is a suburb of Cape Town that was established and designated for Black Africans before apartheid. It is a culturally and historically important urban area.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Positive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had Chippa taking me around in Langa. There was nothing I didn't expect except for the fact that people there seemed so happy, especially the children, who were so lovely.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    151
    49
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A view of the real South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a priviledge to get to visit Langa Towship. It was good to see the real South Africa instead of the huge houses with private helipads etc. The people were so friendly and pleased that you have visited them. We got the change to join in morning worship at the local church and what an inspiration - there must have been 500-700 attending and the singing was truly memorable. They have a very good pottery project within the township. The children was all lovely and wanted us to take their photos - tomorrow's models! This really was one of the highlights of my holiday

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mind-opening, good with teens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had booked a tour into the Langa Township. It is a 3h trip. We got picked up at the hotel. Took some while to collect the other guests (total of 8). Then walking through the Township with a very good guide. It is allowed to enter the flats and ok to take pictures. We bought sweets for the children (do by many - as there are many kids) and the tour guide helped us to give to the children in a fair way. All-in all great experience, a little bit expensive (they say 1/3 goes to social work in the township). But definitely recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Stop by the Craft/Community Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The first stop on our Township tour was a visit to the Community Center. We were able to purchase music CDs, crafts and art made by the locals - some of very high quality.
Eight of us walked the Township with a local guide - I think I would rather have paid more and had a smaller group but however you get there, do go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Langa Township”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A very emotional visit. We simply did not realise the conditions that these hardworking people were having to live in, even though we had visited a number of developing countries in the past. Although the situation is improving for those living in the Townships it is going to take many years before living conditions are acceptable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langa Township also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Langa Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langa Township, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.