We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY SPOT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Beaches

Clifton Beaches
Victoria Road, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Cotswolds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MY SPOT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I absolutely LOVE Clifton and have been going there for more than 30 years. 3rd beach is my favourite and the beach vendors are great, friendly and helpful. I don't want to say too many good things or too many people will go there!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    190
    22
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Idyllic spot but can be windy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We cycled to Clifton beach and thought it was stunning!! Secluded and quiet, bright white sand, waves crashing on to the shoreline and rocks to find shade. Easily passed a day people watching and relaxing. Perfect!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pristine Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great beach you will need to hike down about a 70 foot clif to the beach. The water is very rough and a little chilly but the area is very senic. Not a good beach for young families.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

One of the lovliest beaches on earth, and if your lucky you may get a visit from the odd inquisitive Penguin!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This beach really wow me. It is clean, safe and the water is nice.
I had a nice time with family and friends and would recommend others to visit the beach as well. It is a very popular beach and I think everyone would enjoy the clear waters.

I must say, from my opinion, this is really one of Cape Town's favourable beaches.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifton Beaches also viewed

 
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Clifton Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clifton Beaches to your Saves list