We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium

Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium
Between Government Avenue and Queen Victoria Street, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 481 3800
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Iziko South African Museum houses more than one and a half million specimens of scientific importance. The collections now range from fossils almost 700-million years old to insects and fish caught last week. There are also stone tools made by people 120 000 years ago, traditional clothes from the last century, and T-shirts printed yesterday.The Planetarium, which is housed in the South African Museum building, is a celestial theatre in the round, utilising the complex Minolta star machine and multiple projectors to transport the audience through the wonders of the universe. The ultimate in armchair travel.Inside the domed auditorium, we can recreate the night sky, so whatever the weather outside, the Planetarium sky is always clear, an extraordinary audio-visual experience for old and young.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The museum is fantastic - good exhibits that are well explained. we particularly liked the dinosaur section, but the whales are also great. We visited the planetarium on a single ticket (R100 for family of four for entrance to both - such good value for money) and it was also an interesting show - we saw the Table Mountain show and, while we would have liked to have seen more of the stars, the facts and explanations about the mountain were great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    46
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The SA Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Dam fine - it cost ZAR30 each and we spent two hours there.... well worth it and great for a look around. Would envisage it to be even better for kids as well as lots to look at.
There is a Planetarium there too but thats for another time....

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapstadt, Südafrika
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Many different things to see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Many people just opt for a museum when its raining -
but it doesnt matter what the reason is - as long as you dont mind that some exhibits are really old - you will love the place.
Take your time and wander around!

(it is - as most of the museums in CT - inexpensive)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great fun for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The dinosaur display is a must. Kids love the size of the display. Would love to see an improved gift shop. It could be a great oppertunity to boost income.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molde, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good time killer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I went there on my own to kill some time during the bad weather. I found it interesting and there is a lot to see/read.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.