We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added An African Villa to your Saves list
An African Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Like some of the previous reviewers, I also spent 6 nights at An African Villa during the World Cup. It is indeed more a B&B/guesthouse than a hotel in the classic sense but what a place! I simply cannot recommend it highly enough. My room was simply gorgeous: spacious and comfortable - and with lots of small details that make all the difference, such as Europe-style plugs. Breakfast is great and the kitchen ladies are lovely (I'm a rooibos tea man now). I ended up having more contact with Louis and Jimmy (who gave me the "Villa pack" and some very helpful advice - plus very funny jokes) than Keith and Cindy but they were all very nice and helpful. Jimmy, I hope you make it to that tropical island I told you about! Tamboerskloof is a very nice and safe area, very close to Kloof st and its restaurants and not really far from the top of Long st. Finally, Cape Town and environs are breathtakingly beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    63
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
497
38
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I can't recommend An African Villa highly enough. Stayed for six nights in June during the World Cup. Accommodation is clean and tastefully furnished. Bathrooms are beautiful. The breakfast(cooked to order each morning) is delicious. The management couldn't have been more helpful. They were eager to help us with anything from car rental to restaurant tips. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

An African Villa is a very modern guest house set in a quiet neighborhood right in the middle of Cape Town . The service was excellent and the hosts are a great resource when planning your day. The breakfasts were huge and common spaces were very relaxing and enjoyable. the room itself was more than large enough for me and and my gf. The location is both an advantage and drawback: the area is about a 15 min ride from the water front and other attractions which means you usually have to take a cab (unless you have a day pass on the red-line sightseeing bus). cabs are very easy to find in Cape Town but it does add a slight expense to your trip (a cab from here to the waterfront is around $10 US). But advantage is that the area has lots of excellent, reasonably priced restaurants for dinner and is very safe and quiet which is nice for evenings out. An excellent choice for those looking to avoid the tourist trap that is the waterfront.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Stayed at An African Villa for 2 nights during World Cup. Everything's fabulous. When we arrive, Louis one of the owners greeted us and showed us our rooms (I am travelling with my wife and brother and sis-in-law so 4 of us occupied 2 rooms). Then he's very helpful in showing us around, tips in parking at V&A Waterfront and made recommendations for dinner/place to watch the game (btw, the place he recommended, a tapas bar named Salero, is absolutely lovely)
Decoration's very chic and stylish, rooms are spacious and comfortable. Like the shower with good water pressure and temperature. Our rooms are on the second floor and my room has a balcony facing up the street. Didn't spend a lot of time in the balcony but looks lovely and not noisy at all.
Parking's easy - never have a trouble finding an open spot around - on several occasions we simply parked right at the entrance. The neighborhood's quiet and makes you feel safe. We drove most of the time because we have the rental car but we wouldn't feel intimidated if we have to walk around to find food etc. Can't fault its location - Bo-Kaap is just down a few blocks, and a 10 minute drive gets you to the Waterfront. The busy Long Street is just one block away and definitely within walking distance.
Breakfast has vast selections - part of which is self-served inside the kitchen and the hot dishes are cooked to order - standard English breakfast fares. Totally feel like at home (without the clean-up part). Dropped laundry to them one morning and received them promptly in the evening - all clean and folded - that may sound tedious but for a long trip like ours (we went for 11 days in Cape Town and surroundings all together) that's much appreciated.
It's a bit on the pricey side (on B&B scale) but if you want to up a notch in terms of comfort and "hip-ness", this is the place to be. You got more than what you paid, no doubt. Have no problem recommending this to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the villa from 27 June - 5 July and we loved it. We had a platinum room which was very spacious, beautifully decorated, overlooking Table Mountain and immaculately cleaned everyday.

Most importantly the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast spread was good, and we enjoyed the complimentary sherry and port wine that was prepared for the guests every evening.

The stay would be more perfect if the pillows provided are firmer. :)

Thank you Cindy, Keith and Louis and everyone else from the Villa for being so helpful. We certainly had a very pleasant stay and would love to return one day soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed at African Villa for six nights at the end of June during the World Cup. Despite the universal positive reviews on tripadvisor, the whole experience exceeded my expectations.

Stayed in a platinum room (A2) that I highly recommend - the views of Table Mountain are phenomenal. The room itself is very spacious, well decorated, and with a comfortable bed. There is also a safe, which was a nice touch as hardly any other guesthouses in my South Africa stay had one. Two free computers in the lobby area were also a great touch.

Well the Villa itself is well decorated in a super location, its the staff that are truly incredible, always around to provide advice on restaurants and sightseeing and the local area. They also sit down with you when you arrive and explain absolutely everything. I had read my guidebook cover to cover multiple times and still learned a lot.

The area itself is fantastic. Its about 45 minutes to walk to the waterfront and 30 minutes to downtown, but there is a lot to see on the way. Parking is available on the street and I never had a problem getting a spot so dont be put off by renting car. But the restaurant/bar options are the best part of the area, allowing us on most nights to simply come back and relax and take a short stroll to dinner. There are lots of restaurants on Kloof St and Park Ave 5 min walk from the Villa. My favorite was Opal Lounge, but Rick's Cafe has good happy hour specials and a deck right next door too. Simply Asia is a good cheap lunch spot. I highly recommend Aubergine as well for a nice dinner but that is a txi ride area. Some people noted that its quiet and dark at night, which it is, but I thought the area was super safe. My wife and I walked around every night with not the slightest problem - we even walked from Long St on a Friday night (about 20 minutes).

Overall the Villa was wonderful and we will be back. It wasn't just the nice location and facilities, however, but the hundreds of small touches that made the experience a wonderful one. Definitely stay here if your travels bring you to Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Booked on the back of travel guide reviews and Tripadvisor reiews for 6 days in Cape Town during the World Cup. We much preferred staying near the City than on Camps' Bay and the Villa is located in a residential area with Table Mountain as a perfect backdrop. About a 10 minute walk to Kloof Street, it can be a bit dark and quite coming back late at night.

The space is beautifully decorated and has a relaxed, modern feel without trying to be oerly cool. The staff were fantastic with their orientation, maybe they slightly overdid the safety aspect and that may scare some residents, but maybe we were just lucky given the extra security for the World Cup, so better to be safe than sorry. Restaurant recommendations were really good, we made Green's our local to watch the games we didn't go to.

The rooms were clean, well sized with such well finished bathrooms. It was unseasonably cold so the rooms were wuite cold at night, but that's hardly the fault of the Villa. Breakfast was a nice surprise as was the relaxed walk in/out kitchen with honour system for snacks and drinks.

We had a terrific stay and thoroughkly recommend An African Villa for those who donlt want a conentional hotel, it's 5 star B&B/backpacking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. as required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An African Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.