We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and peaceful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of An African Villa

Save Saved
You added An African Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
An African Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable and peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Enjoyed my stay here as the rooms were very comfortable and didn't feel like they were on top of each other eventhough it was a guest house. Very friendly welcome when we arrived and service was excellent. Breakfast was great. It did look a little tired though, particularly outside around the pool area. With the £/ZAR rate it was a good value option and is well located to explore Cape Town and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    652
    61
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
468
36
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Having wanted to stay at an African Villa for quite some time, we finally found availability to match our travel needs. We have been through a number of similar B&Bs in the area, so we think we have a decent benchmark in terms of comparisons. In our opinion, this property is really strong on service and making the customer feel at home. The property is well-kempt and things run smoothly. That said, we did find two potential areas of improvement. First, we found the initial contact when we arrived to be downright overbearing, which other fellow travellers have also noticed. If you indicate that you have been to Cape Town before, and right after having endured a 11-hour flight, you simply do not want to have the low-down on all sightseeing opportunities in Western Cape. You just want access to your room. Moreover, the wi-fi is a disaster. This is simply not acceptable for an establishment in this price range. It needs to be fixed urgently, or customers will not return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We (my wife, our two adult daughters and I) were all agreed that this was a fantastic place to stay and that we will return here next time we are in Cape Town. The rooms are well appointed, clean and spacious. You can always tell whether a place is clean or not by the state of the bathrooms. You won't be disappointed here.
The communal areas are also places you would want to be in.
Fantastic breakfast. Lovely little back patio to enjoy it in.
So everything you would want from a four star guest house you have here. To this add wonderful hospitality. Louis and Antonette could not have been more helpful if they tried. Nothing was too much trouble and they just couldn't do enough for you. Their wealth of local knowledge made our trip to this wonderful city even better.
We found the locals in Cape Town, no matter whee we went, to be truly friendly and hospitable. The bus system in the city works really well and is inexpensive. We travelled all over the place by public transport and found it to be clean and reliable.
The food is exceptional and to say it was good value for money would be an understatement.
We visited the Biscuit Mill, Camps Bay, Tabletop Mountain and Clifton.
Can't wait to be back and we hope to stay at An African Villa again.

Room Tip: We had one Gold and one Platinum room. Both rooms were equally good. This place gets booked up pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South African
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I spent our 2-year wedding anniversary here and had such an amazing time. We were made to feel so welcome and at home and we were even spoiled with a bottle of bubbly. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was the second time that we have stayed at An African Villa and it was the right decision to return. The staff are really helpful and full of great tips for Cape Town and the local area round the hotel. If I had to give a tip, I'd recommend staying in one of the upstairs rooms as they're a bit quieter.

Room Tip: As before, the rooms upstairs are slightly quieter than the downstairs rooms. I'd also suggest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed for five nights in January 2014. Housekeeping staff members are really friendly; there is a nice atmosphere at breakfast. Breakfast is delicious. Our room was light and airy with a view of Table Mountain. Terrace and garden are pretty; big downside is that guests are allowed to smoke outside; while having breakfast it was annoying and sometimes we would not open the door to not let cigarette smoke in (from the garden). We used the laundry service and everything has shrunk. As a result I had to give parts of my holiday wardrobe to charity (1 mini skirt, 6 singlets, 7 T-Shirts, 1 blouse, 1 pair of shorts, 1 pair of long trousers). At least it is a good thing to do. I heavily advise everyone to not use their laundry service. I spoke to the blonde Lady at reception (so very sorry that I cannot remember her name) about the issue and she said she was sorry, that was it, she was not really bothered and I would have wished for a bit more enthusiasm. We also had our beach towels cleaned and they were fine though. The location is not too bad, in a pretty neighborhood of CT.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africanvilla, Owner at An African Villa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear "DorCologne "
Sorry to read about your disappointing experience at our establishment. We have taken note of your complaint about the smoking in the courtyard. The South Africa Government enforces a no-smoking policy and does not allow smoking INSIDE public areas, and our establishment upholds that same policy and do not allow any smoking inside our bedrooms or inside the common areas. This means that smoking is only allowed outside our establishment and guests use the OPEN courtyard for that purpose. I, myself am a non-smoker, but it is very difficult to supervise the outside OPEN courtyard area as to where guests are allowed to smoke or not, but we have taken your complaint on board and have introduced a "NO-SMOKING DURING BREAKFAST TIME" policy as a courtesy to other non-smoking guests.

Regarding your laundry complaint.
I am sorry to hear you experienced problems with our laundry service.
We have been using the services of this laundry company for almost 9 years now and we have never experienced any problems with guest laundry before. We also send all the bed linen and bath towels from our establishment to the same laundry company – all these items are 100% cotton and we’ve never experienced any shrinkage problems before. Our records indicate that 5 guests sent personal laundry out on the same day as you and none of the other 4 guests alerted us of shrinking laundry as experienced by yourself on that day. I checked with the laundry company as to what washing cycle they use for laundry. They only wash in cold water (unless a special request is made for hot water wash), and they do tumble dry all laundry as they do not have airing facilities to hang laundry out to dry naturally. We try our best to take care of guest’s personal laundry and we supply 2 laundry bags in each bedroom. One laundry bag for light colours and one for dark colours. For any other special requests, we pin a note onto the laundry bag to alert the laundry of the request. I am not sure if your personal laundry items had special care instructions such as “ DO NOT TUMBLE DRY” – if this was not communicated to the laundry, they would’ve washed and tumbled as per their normal procedure.
As I mentioned, this was an isolated case and not the norm and we apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was a great boutique hotel just outside of one of the major downtown areas of Cape Town. The most impressive part of the experience is the staff/owners. Every day they stop by your table as you eat an amazing breakfast and help you plan your day. They take time to make sure you know exactly what you are doing and let you know if your planning should be tweaked at all. The rooms are really nice and the on-suite bathrooms are great. You can walk from the hotel to lots of great restaurants but it's far enough off the main streets that parking is easy. All in all, the perfect hotel for a short stay in Cape Town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. as required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An African Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.