We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added An African Villa to your Saves list
An African Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend, it did not disappoint. The location is great a (short) walk down to Strand St. The property is very well appointed and modern. Rooms are a little on the small side, but at the price/location you'll struggle to find anything bigger in CT. The vibe is def titled towards couples rather than solo or biz travelers.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    67
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
521
38
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of a longer holiday in SA - loved it. The managers/owners could not have been more helpful, the room and communal areas were lovely, and the breakfast was the best we had in our three week trip (especially the crispy bacon!).

Very highly recommended - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My name is Paul and I'm one of the directors of Real Africa in the UK and I recently stayed at An African Villa and would like to thank Louis, Keith, Cindy & Jimmy for looking after me and my partner so well. The guest house is well situated for visiting locally restaurants and is a short taxi drive away to the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and Table Mountain.

We stayed in a Gold Room which was large and had a lovely bathroom. The room overlooked the small pool and terrace area.

The communual areas are warm and inviting and offer comfortable seats and even computers.

Breakfast is taken close to the kitchen and you can help yourself to cold items and a cooked breakfast is also available if required.

I'm confident our Real Africa clients will continue to enjoy staying at An African Villa.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for one of the large Platinum rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

An African Villa was so beautifully decorated and appointed, that you felt you were staying with a friend's house who is an interior designer. From the moment we stepped through the doors, we were greeted and an attended to like we were royalty. The attention to detail in this Villa was very high end, right down to the little gift wrapped treat upon check out. The owners were friendly, knowledgeable, and super helpful. Since our flight did not leave until the evening, were were able to store our bags at the Villa for one last day of exploring the city. They booked us the Shower Room to let us get cleaned up before we left for the airport. Who the heck DOES THAT?! An African Villa, that's who. I loved this place!!! HIGH RECOMMENDATIONS!!!

My only very minor complaint is that the door to our room (C3) did not fit the opening as well as it could have. Since the bright hall light outside our door was left on all evening, it shawn through all the gaps around the door. I recommend that the door is replaced with a better fitting door, or have the hall light dimmed after 9 pm. To be fair, the owners did have a draft roll to put at the bottom of the door, but light was still beaming in from the sides.

Room Tip: Noise travels in these old houses, so if that bothers you, you may want to ask for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

An African Villa is a great hotel/guest house in a perfect location of Cape Town. Very welcoming and had a great atmosphere. The rooms where fantastic but the whole place is made by the host Jimmy . He knew all of the good restaurants and events in Cape Town and was always accessible to give a review or book something. I understand if people where dissatisfied if they thought it was going to be a large hotel. It was more of a guest house. It does not have large facilities nor does it need them with the experience of the Jimmy and the location. It does have a pool. Unlimited wifi was a great bonus. Do not be put of because it doesn't serve dinner. There are plenty of amazing restaurants. Breakfast was good.

Overall and fantastic guest house/hotel and definitely would recommend and will hopefully stay again.
Fantastic

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The praise in the reviews here is totally warranted; strangely this bijou B&B is only rated a miserly one star by the local tourist office but it shines as brightly as the Pole Star. They could claim it is really a ‘boutique hotel’ but they understate much of the accomplishments. This B&B has great charm, it has been carved out of three houses in a quiet street near the Mount Nelson Hotel.

High end, expensive boutique hotels give you a wide selection of cooked breakfasts; advice on where to go if you seek something not on the tourist map (‘are there any art deco houses around?’ proved no problem – a real ‘must see’); recommend and book good restaurants locally then give you a little map with directions; a little swimming pool; complimentary tea with cakes, then sherry and later still; port. The same attention to detail and service are enjoyed here – what a joy.

Whilst exploring the complimentary sherry each evening we spoke with our fellow guests. The majority were not simply tourists; they were seasoned travellers who put in a bit more research as they want more out of their travels than contrived excursions. Most guests evidently could easily afford a high status international brand of hotel but preferred to get something of the feel of their surroundings. However, the tiny minority who gave lower ratings, as well as having a lamentable lack of accuracy, would have been better off to find a bland chain hotel. Why would anyone not choose to have delightful, tasteful, local craft decorating the rooms or to enjoy the individual service that was so willingly offered?

This is a haven where you can relax and concentrate on the best things in life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wow! I REALLY loved An African Villa! And it is true that first impressions count! Louis helped us take our bags up, and then said to come downstairs in half an hour once we were settled in for a house tour and overview of Cape Town. He actually sat down with us for almost a full 30 minutes and told us some top places to go, things to do, where not to walk at night etc... which just set us up for our stay perfectly. Just such awesome attention to customer service.

Our room itself had a view straight out onto the mountain which was fantastic! (See photo) The bed was totally comfortable, the house was decorated nicely and the bathroom was just fine.

Breakfast is great and if you turn down hot breakfast you will be fussed over to make sure you are feeling OK! hehe. Cindy was always floating around at breakfast and would find out what you are up to for the day and give you some tips! (THANK GOD she told us how to find JC LEREAUX (awesome Bubbles tasting) and Le Petite Ferme (lunch stop) on our Kirstenbosch day trip. Both recommendation were absolutely spot on.

I loved An African Villa so much!

Louis, Jimmy and Cindy you are all just fabulous and have a GREAT guesthouse.

Ben & Jack

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An African Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.