We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guest house, great personal touches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added An African Villa to your Saves list
An African Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful guest house, great personal touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at an African Villa for 3 nights in October 2012 on our honeymoon and couldn't have had a better experience. Upon our arrival, the innkeepers took 15-20 minutes to welcome us and give us a detailed and personalized introduction to Cape Town. They gave us lots of practical tips and suggestions for the area and were so friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the breakfasts in the morning were great. We had a great view of table mountain and the location was a short walk to some great cafes, restaurants and shops. We appreciated all of the kindness and effort to make our trip a memorale one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    63
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
497
37
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a week at An African Villa and we can't rate it too highly.

The booking was faultless and we were provided with ample advice before our trip.

Cindy, Keith, Louis and Jimmy were exceptional hosts - absolutley nothing was too much trouble. As an example one evening when our taxi failed to arrive Loius put us in his car and drove us into town himself.

We had a beautiful room that was very well appointed. Breakfasr was a treat particularly if it could be taken outside on the terrace.

If we return to Cape Town we'll certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay for the best rooms - they have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at An African Villa in late September 2012 and even before we arrived experienced Louis and Jimmy's wonderful kindness and advice which during the course of our 3 day stay in Cape Town ensured a great holiday for our entire family. Jimmy organised a great guide/driver for us Thabang and with him planned our days so that we could squeeze in all that we hoped to do without rushing about including a great lunch at The Cape of Good Hope and a sensational dinner at The Harbour Terrace.
The hotel itself is very well located and the rooms and atmosphere that of a beautifully decorated home where you are welcomed by friends who want to ensure you have the best possible experience of Cape Town. When my husband was unwell Jimmy not only recommended a clinic he personally drove us there - as I say it was as though we were staying with friends.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room upstairs with a view of Table Top Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Louis, Keith and Jimmy were all great! Very detailed orientation upon our arrival which is very useful for new visitors to South Africa like ourselves who were a little concerned over safety awareness. Love the breakfast, great way to charge yourself and start a day. Cheap and quick laundry service worked out great for us as we had been on the road for a week. Complimentary port/sherry each evening is a warm touch. Loved our stay and thanks, everyone at AAV!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for four nights in October 2012. Keith and Cindy were exceptional hosts and assisted with all our requests. The rooms were clean, well maintained and quiet. The common areas were very comfortable and The location is excellent and indeed you can walk to various restaurants for dinner, or a cab can be easily arranged for relatively low cost. I just want to echo and confirm the previous reviews- an excellent place to stay in Cape Town. We would come again and appreciated greatly our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We book our three nights at An African Villa mainly because of the comments on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed! This hotel is in a beautiful area with a fantastic view of Table Mountain. We were impressed by the bedroom and the whole villa was beautifully decorated. Keith and Cindy were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heartbeat. The breakfasts were great with something a little different every day (like pancakes) and they sure know how to cook crispy bacon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are very comfortable.
The hosts were very knowlegdeable and knew how to direct us to unique locations.
Although in a pieceful and quiet neighborhood, the place is within walking distance from great restaurants and bars.
Loved every minute of our stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. as required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An African Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.