We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added An African Villa to your Saves list
An African Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We book our three nights at An African Villa mainly because of the comments on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed! This hotel is in a beautiful area with a fantastic view of Table Mountain. We were impressed by the bedroom and the whole villa was beautifully decorated. Keith and Cindy were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heartbeat. The breakfasts were great with something a little different every day (like pancakes) and they sure know how to cook crispy bacon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    67
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
520
38
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are very comfortable.
The hosts were very knowlegdeable and knew how to direct us to unique locations.
Although in a pieceful and quiet neighborhood, the place is within walking distance from great restaurants and bars.
Loved every minute of our stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at An African Villa for 4 nights while on a recent visit to Cape Town.
Tamboerskloof is conveniently situated to most sights and Keith and Cindy in particular were very helpful in every way. They made restaurant reservations, advised us where to go and which places to avoid.
On arrival, Keith met us at the door and took time to explain how the B & B operated, where breakfast was served etc. He helped to carry our luggage up the stairs to our bedroom which was adequate in size with a very comfortable bed and good quality white linen. If stairs are an issue, you need to be aware that there are steep steps up to the bedrooms and in our bedroom, 3 unexpectedly steep steps down to the ensuite bathroom, which could be a problem at night. To avoid any accidents, we kept the door to the bathroom closed at all times and put the light on at night.
The breakfasts were delicious and freshly prepared on the premises. The homemade bread and pancakes were to die for! Breakfast was either served indoors in the diningroom or outside beside the pool in good weather. Complimentary sherry was available in one of the lounges and free WIFII was an added bonus while traveling.
The B & B was artistically decorated throughout with most of the artwork was available for sale.
An African Villa was spotlessly clean and more than met all our expectations. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it very highly to anyone visiting beautiful Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this villa located in a safe neighborhood. The place is close to the main attractions such as the table mountains and the V&A waterfront and several amazing restaurants.

The hosts (Jimmy, Louis, Keith and Cindy) made us comfortable right from the moment we stepped in. Their recommendations on restaurants and itineraries were spot on!! The travel arrangements within the city and the drop to the airport is well organized.

Drinks and snacks are available anytime in the kitchen to purchase which was extremely useful. We loved the 'complimentary' cakes. The kitchen was open all through the day where we could store our restaurant takeaways.Very friendly and always eager to help staff, special thanks to Xolani and Boni.

The decor of the room was pleasant and had all the necessary facilities.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked three nights at An African Villa based upon the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. If anything the rave reviews did not do the whole experience justice and truly set the tone for the rest of our vacation in South Africa.On arrival we were greeted by one of the four proprietors as very welcome guests into an established family home.Everything was explained to us as we were taken on a comprehensive tour of the property, which has a dozen excellent bedrooms ranging from Platinum (bath, shower and balcony) through Gold (Bath/shower) to Silver (shower only and slightly smaller. Everything appears to have been thought of for the comfort of their guests - from tea/coffee in the room to an open kitchen for snacks and refreshment and a complimentary glass of port or sherry in the evening in one of two lounge areas. The wifi and use of computers is also provided. There were answers to every question we asked, restaurants were booked and comprehensive directions given to places of interest - all without having to be asked. We liked the place so much that we immediately booked a second three night stay. Over the period we stayed in both Gold and Silver accommodation and we were more than satisfied to recommend either, If we had to choose we would recommend "C1" for the Silver and "A5" for the Gold. An African Villa is conveniently (and safely) located towards the Table Mountain and within easy walking distance of some very good restaurants. All-in-all couldn't have wished for better - many thanks to Cindy, Keith, Jimmy and Louis

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you are browsing reviews looking for safe and comfortable digs in Cape Town, then you've found them! From the moment you arrive and one of the owners, in our case Keith, sits down with you and offers information and practical advice about your stay in both the guest house and city, you know you've made the right choice.

After two back to back overnight flights totalling 20 hours in the air from Vancouver, we arrived at 10am and were in our room within the hour, for which we were very grateful. The guest house is located in a quiet and safe neighbourhood, with many restaurants to choose from within easy walking distance, and not too far from any of the places you will wish to visit. For example, we walked to the Mount Nelson Hotel and caught the open top tour bus from outside the main entrance, a great way to familiarize yourself with the city and providing an opportunity to alight at places of interest.

The guest house offers large common rooms for lounging in, with a couple of desk top computers free for use, and three classes of bedrooms. We stayed in one of the silver options which was clean and comfortable, although we found the bathroom to be narrow and quite tight. Made to order breakfast is served either outside in the pleasant courtyard, weather permitting, or in the breakfast room, and we enjoyed both the variety of a cooked meal or self serve buffet style with cheeses, cold cuts and fruit. Drinks and snacks are available anytime in the kitchen to purchase with an honour system and complimentary sherry and port is available in the evenings.

All four of the owners were very friendly and helpful with suggestions from restaurant recommendations, to organizing tours and car rentals, and nothing was too much trouble to enhance our five night stay. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

An African Villa is a super place to stay while visiting Capetown. It's situated in a a quiet and safe residential area, approximately 10-15 minute walk to the city centre. The decor inside is superb. We had a gorgeous room that had a huge comfortable bed and an amazing view of Table Mountain. Jimmy, Louis & all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was lovely and they had an 'honesty bar' where you can help yourself to the beverages and snacks in the kitchen and just mark off what you have taken on the sheet provided. They also left out delicious cake each afternoon that was complimentary. If we are lucky enough to be able to make another trip to Capetown we will definitely be coming back to stay in An African Villa!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. As required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar and guest fridge in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An African Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.