We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous guest house in a lovely area of Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An African Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added An African Villa to your Saves list
An African Villa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Costa Blanca, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous guest house in a lovely area of Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

First of all may I say how amazed I was to read the previous review criticising the customer service at An African Villa. We were in South Africa for 3 weeks, staying mostly in guest houses and this one stood out for many reasons, one being the friendliness and helpfullness of all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff went out of their way to help when a) they managed to get us tickets for Robben Island when every other company had advised us they were sold out, b) Louis phoned round to find a restaurant for us to spend New Year's Eve when many places were full - Rozenhof where the food was delicious, c) they surprised us one evening by delivering a bottle of champage on ice to our room. We'd mentioned when we booked the room several months previously that this was a special holiday to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and they'd obviously made a note of that. Very nice! d) they took our laundry to a laundrette because their usual service was closed over the holidays and e) Louis found somewhere for us to have a shower before our late flight as we had to check out at 11am and they were full so couldn't extend our room.

When we arrived Louis sat down with us and gave us info about the guest house, the area, restaurants, etc. All recommendations they gave us were excellent. There is an information guide in your room with more tips and there are even numbers supplied for a taxi company, restaurants, main tourist attractions, etc which you can dial free of charge from your room or the lounge.

The guest house is absolutely beautiful. It's decorated in contemporary African style - very classy - and the rooms are gorgeous. The breakfast selection is comprehensive including a range of items to select yourself (fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, etc) and full cooked breakfast to order from the very friendly staff. The breakfasts are delicious. There are 2 computers in the lounge offering free internet access and if you have your laptop with you there is free wireless access in your room (the guest house we stayed in at Camps Bay wanted to charge us R200 to access the internet from our room!!). The location is great too - it's situated in Tamboerskloof and easy to walk to restaurants and shops (even at night) and just a R40 taxi ride to the waterfront.

We didn't have any complaints. If we were being really picky the only thing we could think to improve would be to have a fridge in our room so as to have easy access to cold drinks during the night. However, there is an honesty bar in the kitchen where you can purchase water, soft drinks, wine and beer. We would recommend An African Villa without hesitation and look forward to staying here again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    63
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
497
37
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

Two friends and I stayed at An african Villa this past September for 4 days. We were quite impressed with the reviews we \read on TripAdvisor and the pictures of the interior were beautiful. However, our excitement subsided once we arrived because of the general lack of warmth we felt throughout our stay. We were in South Africa for 3 weeks and stayed at BnBs the entire time, but this was the only location that felt sterile and did not provide the ubuntu we felt in every other location in SA. The morning and day staff seemed to tolerate us and our basic requests (arrange a cab, recommend resteraunts). For the price, we expected more, but i guess you don't always get what you pay for. I do not plan stay here in the future and would advice others to stay somewhere with a higher standard of customer service and hospitality.

  • Liked — Interior Design
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

A really perfect place to stay. We spent 6 nights there to discover Cape Town. Beautiful rooms, perfect service, friendly staff, a safe neighbourhood and a beautiful location. Nearby you will find anything you need (post, supermarket, restaurants etc.).
If you are a friend of seafood, try the Ocean Basket Restaurant (5 minutes to walk). We recommend this place without restriction of any kind.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

We stayed at African Villa from 8 to 12 December and without a doubt has been the best accomodation I have ever had in Cape Town. I'm a South African and was at the Villa with my American girlfriend who loved it even more than I did. When we first walked into the Villa we got taken on a little tour of the facility and immediatly fell in love with it. If you're after a personel experience that will feel better than you're own home this is youre place. Needless to say I scored some real points with my girl for booking this place!! Don't miss out on it, Cape Town is by far the most beautiful city in the world and staying here just completes the whole experience!!

  • Liked — The personel attention and
  • Disliked — The fact that we could only stay for 4 nights!!!!!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

This place was lovely! Wonderful staff, wonderful rooms, charming, clean and really made our last night. We booked having read the reviews on tripadvsior where everyone said they loved it and we'd have to agree. The hosts work very hard to make everything perfect and even the little leaving gift they gave us showed thought and consideration. We were also given an amazing restuarant recommendation by the owners - probably the best food we've ever eaten anywhere. Only slight issue perhaps is that its not as centrally located as some may like but this suited us and taxis are so cheap and convienent it really didnt feel like a problem.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

Absolutely fantastic. Superb accomodation, warm friendly atmosphere. Many thanks to Louis, Jimmy and the rest of the staff for a great stay. *****Five Star*****

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

I can only reiterate what so many of the great reviews here have already stated - stay here! My sister and I just returned from 6 nights at the African Villa. The hotel is gorgeous - beautifully decorated, spacious, and still very homey. We had a room on the first floor right off of the library with free internet, a book swap, guidebooks, magazines and newspapers to borrow, and pamphlets on the various activities in the area. There was also complimentary sherry and port as well as a phone from which to make free local calls for restaurant reservations and taxis. There's complimentary tea and coffee in the kitchen as well as an honor bar with food and drink for purchase at very reasonable prices.

The included breakfast every morning was fabulous - yogurt, cereal, bread, fresh fruit, cheese, as well as coffee, tea, bacon, sausage, toast and omelets. We got pancakes as an occasional treat.

The hotel is well-located in a quiet residential area in walking distance to Long Street and Kloof Street with lots of restaurants and shops.

The greatest thing about the hotel, by far, though, has to be the staff. They are beyond-words fantastic, full of information, super-nice and always ready to help us with anything we needed. We got a great orientation of the hotel and the Cape Town area and any questions we had from restaurant recommendations to laundry to transportation and excursion suggestions, they were happy to answer. Definitely stay here if you can!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An African Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An African Villa

Address: 19 Carstens St. | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An African Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Villa is much more than that! It is in fact three houses which are part of a Victorian terrace dating from 1892. The double story houses have been joined together and so the inside spaces are much larger than the facade suggests. It's like walking into a TARDIS someone has written on Tripadvisor! There are 12 rooms and the hotel is owner managed.Location is vital when choosing a spot for you vacation and this more than a Villa is within an easy walk of all tourist attractions in the city area. The others (like the fabulous beaches) are a short taxi ride away.There is a small plunge pool in a peaceful courtyard where a very full breakfast is served in summer. (In winter there's a sociable dining room and an eco-friendly fire blazing). Your hosts are very careful to offer you as much information as you want and they will arrange car rental, restaurant reservations, tours etc. as required.Free internet on 2 computers in a library area and wireless access is available in all rooms. At night the night porter will set out complimentary sherry and port and at other times there is an honesty bar in the kitchen. Parking is on street and there is no charge (street guards patrol) but you should not need a car from this well placed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your An African Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An African Villa Hotel Cape Town Central
An African Hotel
An African Cape Town
An African Villa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An African Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.