We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wholesome food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woolworth Cafe

Woolworth Cafe
V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
Durbanville, South Africa
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have been there a few times and we are always happy with the fresh and good quality of their dishes. Breakfasts are exeptionally good. A bit pricey, but still good value.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good selection - fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Worthwhile - good selection of quality foods, prepared meals and salads. Nice place to hang out for a bite & drink. Several locations including one on CPT airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

woolworht which is a chain store in south africa has created some cafe, and the serve great fresh well decorated food .
we runaway from our hotel breakfast in the tablebay , and we had breakfast at woolwoth was great . scones are great and eggs are greatly presented .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Light bite great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The coffee is decent, great selection of cakes and muffins. Fresh bites and spectacular, I mean breath taking views... Shop a bit or a lot and relax at the cafe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Quick bite, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have dropped in to this snack-bar type establishment, before, during or after shopping, but for the first time yesterday it became a destination when we met up with our daughter and son-in-law.

The offerings are simple but attractive. Baguettes are crisp and crunchy, toasted sandwiches have firm crusts, and open sandwiches just invite you to eat them.

While not plush, surroundings are clean in both style and housekeeping, and the cherry on the top is a great view of the harbour and Table Mountain, equal to that from the five star hotel next door.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolworth Cafe also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Woolworth Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolworth Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.