We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much food for little money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mano a Mano

Mano a Mano
5 Park Road Gardens, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 422 4415
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“much food for little money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here, but the portions are BIG!!! I had the chicken livers and the gambga's, lovely, nice staff, book in advance, new are the fresh pizza's, next time we wil certainly try them! Also a very nice terras outside in front of the restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited as it was close to our hotel. We originally were going to have just a quick bite to eat but the food and service was so good we ended up having three courses! Our waitress was extremely attentive and helped us make informed decisions about our food. The fillet steak and schnitzel were both delicious and the chocolate brownie was amazing! Every member of staff that we spoke to was friendly and helpful and make our night a very enjoyable one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very convenient location, nicely appointed, great menu but the service was appalling. We waited twenty minutes for the largely young and female staff to decide they would condescend to serve us and take our order: if it wasn't for one of the chefs coming out and taking our order, we'd be there still!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Braai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a great place! It is new since I was last in Cape Town but it proved to be the perfect place to go with dear friends who have an active 3 yr old son. J (the son) was given crayons and an activity book as soon as we were seated, and the owners encouraged him to explore, gently watching to keep him safe. That's very special.

But the food - WOW WOW WOW! We lucked out - not sure if this is always the case, but the day we went they had a lamb braai that was incredible. The meat was succulent and slid off the bones neatly. The potatoes were perfect - not mushy, not hard, and the salad that came first was delicious. All in all, it was a splendid lunch.

I'll definitely return!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“It's our local favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We eat here whenever we can. We use the underground parking @R10 a night - easy. Invariably one if us will have the baby chicken :-). Highly recommended. The spinach is fresh. We've never had a bad meal here. Cosy in Winter with the fire

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mano a Mano also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mano a Mano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mano a Mano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.