We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome store, awesome owner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baraka Gifts and Decor

Baraka Gifts and Decor
Shop 13A, Dixon Street, Cape Quarter | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
+27 21 425 8883
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Baraka Gifts and Decor will take you on an inspiring journey to a dreamworld filled with an eclectic mix of arts, crafts, jewellery, decor and much more! We also sell vintage and antique items because we believe retro design is still very relevant today. At Baraka you will find a range of handmade leather notebooks and photo albums, hand crochet hats, shell and driftwood spoons, affordable jewellery, out-of-the-box art, quirky once-off pieces, unusual non-curio African goods, Panama hats, handbags, hand-woven Zulu baskets made from recycled telephone wire – and the biggest selection of scarves in Cape Town, to mention but a few. Our vision is to afford you an extraordinary shopping experience at very affordable prices. Baraka's loyal customers refer to the shop as a “treasure trove” and “the little shop with the big heart”. But you have to experience it for yourself!
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome store, awesome owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Gavin was SUCH a great host to us - showed us around his store and offered insights about lots of the pieces he was selling. My friend Angela has brouhgt him repeat customers over the past few months and so as a thank you he even gave her a kay chain by one of her favorite artists. This is a really great store with really great gifts - definitely check it out for lots of one of a kind items to bring home with you from this amazing country!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Kim
I am so glad you liked our store and could find some unique pieces to take home with you! Thank you for the kind words.
Hope to see you back in South Africa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A bohemian rhapsody in CT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This Cape Quarter attraction has fast become my one-shop stop for gifts from Africa (and everywhere, really). I'm never disappointed - whether its original artworks, unique jewelry, beautiful antiques or souvenirs, this place has got it all, and then some. And with the great suggestions of the owners, Gavin & Balti, I get my shopping done quickly, affording me time to try out their ideas on nearby restaurants and new happenings in Cape Town. A fantastic shop with extremely pleasant owners - a true pleasure to visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Adri-reise! Very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best gift shop in Ctown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A great shop with so many diffrent/brilliant things! You can walk around it a 100 times and still didn't see everything. Defenintly go there if you're looking for a gift thats original and unique!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thanks a lot Freek! Yes we have about 2000 products in our store, so loads to see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A treasure trove!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My daughter (6) and I visit Baraka when we get our hair cut nearby. My daughter always has such fun finding new beautiful treasures. Gavin and Balti, the owners, are warm, friendly and welcoming. Not many shop owners in a shop full of gorgoues trinkets, welcome a 6 year old so wonderfully! I always find something beautiful, unusual and reasonably priced. It really is a gem of a shop and really worth a visit if you are a local or a tourist.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Penny,
It is always lovely to see you and your daughter once a month! Thank you for your continued support over the years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best original gift shop in Cape Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lovely little shop with real treasures, from antique items to handmade crafted design products by local artists. Has got something for everyone and is a great place for finding good souvenirs. The owner is a nice South African guy who even speaks German!.
A must go in Cape Town.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin T, Owner at Baraka Gifts and Decor, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Jacques,
Thank you so much for the kind words and I am so glad that you liked our store! We do try hard to keep the shop fresh and interesting at all times.
Belteshazzar, who is the co-owner, is the guy who speaks German :-)
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baraka Gifts and Decor also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Baraka Gifts and Decor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraka Gifts and Decor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.