We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Places like this shouldn't serve food!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shimmy Beach Club

Shimmy Beach Club
South Arm Road V&A Harbour Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 200 7778
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Places like this shouldn't serve food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location, watching the ships in and out of the habour, my guess a good nightclub but not really a restaurant. Manager was great and apologetic so was the waiter. Dreadfully cold interior but worse still was the temperature of the food and coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    55
    19
    19
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place if you have low expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On holiday (from the UK): we called up Shimmy Beach Club to make a reservation to sit outside, to which they responded that patrons don't need to make a reservation to sit outside, as it operates on a first-come-first served basis for outside seating. We arrived there and were told to choose any free 'lounger' which we did, only to find out it had been reserved, contrary to what we were told on the phone. We called the manager, who then explained that some guy had paid R30000.00 for the area, which is not what my question was to him, as any person could pay that amount for a little area. My question to him was 'why did they tell us over the phone you couldn't reserve a table outside'... that question still not answered up until this day. They then moved us to another seat, and after ordering our drinks, yet another waiter ('Co-Manager' he called himself) came up to us to ask us in a very impolite manner to move... this after the MANAGER had moved us there. We requested to see the manager again, which did not happen, and we were told there was a mistake. As big spenders, we decided to leave after our drinks to a more quality place, with quality service. Bless our waiter, he was fantastic! Just a pity the management of the place is pre-historic in their way of serving customers. As in the caption, great place if you're not used to quality! The name did get around here in London, but I have made sure that I told each and every one of my friends, colleagues and those in the know that I would not recommend this place... many more beautiful places to visit which represent the friendliness, professionalism and quality South Africa is known for over here in the UK.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great seaside venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Cape Town has few places that are located right at the waters' edge, so Shimmy is a welcome addition.
Based on press attention and hype I was dreading an overpriced pretentious place with substandard food and service, like The Grand beachclub nearby, so was amazed to find the opposite.
The prices were quite low, no different to any other restaurant in town, and the staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a really good time and will happily go again.
Some of the other diners sadly own neither a mirror nor fashion magazines judging by their extraordinarily showy yet hideous outfits, but I suppose that is part of the fun in glamorous venues like this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pathetic Service And Shocking Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My mate and I arrived to Shimmy Beach club, we were greeted by a hostess with a horrible attitude and someone who would lead me to never come back to the restaurant ever again. She then proceeded to do an absolutely useless job of escorting us to our table. We then waited for about 10 minutes for someone to actually help us with our umbrellas and moving us to a table more suited for us. Our drinks came within reasonable time, which was a surprise. We ordered our food and it all came at different intervals, this is indicative of a poorly run restaurant. Not to mention how mediocre the food was! All round a shocking experience. Wouldn't be surprised if Shimmy Beach club closes within 6 months, as it was a perfect day in Cape Town and the restaurant was empty, clearly many have had the same experience. Pathetic!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A bit sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went here on a Friday night with a group of friends. The look is on par with European night clubs. So is the service which is not a good thing. Maybe the vibe is better for sundowners but being there around 11PM with not more than 100 people is this big place made us depressed so we left after an hour. Will give it another try for sundowners next summer. That is, if they will survive winter. Pity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimmy Beach Club also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Shimmy Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shimmy Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.