We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Sidecar Adventures

Cape Sidecar Adventures
No. 2 Glengariff Road | Three Anchor Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
27 21 434 9855
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Our fleet of 25 vintage sidecars provide chauffeured tours and transfers around the Cape Peninsula and Winelands for visitors.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Amazing family adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What an amazing adventure we had as a family exploring Cape Town, my husband and I riding pillion on the bikes and our children in the side cars. This was the first time I had ever been on a motorbike never mind the children, so I was a bit apprehensive but the drivers were very reassuring and I felt we were all in very safe hands. The drivers made the day our own, suggesting places we had not yet visited and tailored the tour accordingly. They both had great local knowledge and were very keen to impart this knowledge as the tour went on. Despite having a time schedule, we were able to stop and take time to look around, eat our picnic and take lots of photos without being rushed! I would highly recommend exploring Cape Town in this way, it was a wonderful and invigorating experience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane
1 review
“Great way to see Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a great morning seeing some of the beautiful sights of Cape Town. It was an interesting way to travel around the city and a novel way to see sights we've seen before but in a new adventurous way. We really enjoyed our trip and the drivers were friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Holiday "easy rider"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Side-car Adventure treats your vacation with a real sense of adventure as you cruise the streets and roads of Cape Town, South Africa. From the "gearing-up' process of the leather jackets, helmets, visors, as well as complimentary bandanas, the rider's safety is the first order of business. Our guide, Donald - a native of Cape Town- took us North to Blouberg where the wildflowers were beginning to bloom and most tourists, just locals, venture to the beaches and views of the area. Our postcard photographs of the Table Mountain, Lions Head, etc. all come from our Sidecar Adventure Tour. Next time, we will book a longer tour rather than the 90 minute. Hint: Book online and receive a discount. Enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great way of getting around and visiting the cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went on a sidecar tour very spontaneously and got our tickets at the Waterfront office of Citysightseeing. The sidecar was ready after about 90 mins. The driver, Donald, made sure we felt safe on the absolutely wonderful vintage sidecar before taking us on the trip to Boulders Beach, Cape Point, through Hout Bay and along the spectacular Chapman's Peak Drive. Donald proved to be a good driver and a very kind and informative guide (and he took the most wonderful pictures I have to remind me of my stay in Cape Town, he is quite a talent!). The ride was an adventure in itself, and the landscape is magnificent to watch while riding along. The only point of improvement might be the stay at Cape Point – it was a little too short, so that we didn't make it back to the sidecar at the appointed time, although we didn't dawdle. But still, it was a great experience, absolutely recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timthescorpio, Owner at Cape Sidecar Adventures, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for your enthusiastic review of your sidecar trip.
Regarding the shortage of time. Unfortunately, sometimes the popular attractions that we visit en route are very busy with other visitors which affects the timing of the outing. If you'd like to enjoy another sidecar outing in the future, i'd like to suggest booking the full-day option which allows a lot more flexibility and allows for a more relaxed trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Way To See Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a ride!!! 8 of us, 4 adults and 4 children, went for the coolest ride. Tim and three other drivers showed up outside our Camps Bay house on a beautiful July day. For the next 5 hours we rode the southern peninsula making various stops along the way. At each stop Tim and his 3 amigos pointed out things of interest and cracked a few, actually funny, jokes.. What a great time!!! A must do in Cape Town!

The Mandar Crew
Mader's and Siegel's

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Sidecar Adventures also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Sidecar Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Sidecar Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cape Sidecar Adventures to your Saves list