We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost.. But not quite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Canal Quays to your Saves list
Canal Quays
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Anchor Way, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Almost.. But not quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I'm sorry to have to write such a poor review for this place. The apartment itself was actually quite nice, and very clean. However, there were just too many downsides.
The wifi did not work in the room ever.
The front door opens onto a balcony with no windows, so the wind rattles and bangs the door all night. Since the bed is about 10 feet from the front door this noise is very annoying.
The balcony/terrace has a horrible view of an Audi car dealership, and an oil rig.
Getting to and from the place is extremely difficult! Arriving by car is not so bad (once you figure out the trick of getting around the convention center). However, leaving on foot is almost impossible, as there is a multi-kilometer detour to get to the waterfront. There are no taxis stationed near the apartments, and you must walk to the convention center to find one. During the day you can take the water taxis which is nice (but after once or twice you don't feel like listening to the same info again and again).
The information booklet in the room is filled with rules "Don't do this and that".
The receptionist was polite and professional. The apartments are also in a safe neighborhood, and then is free parking on site. And the room was not so expensive. However, I would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear travelbuff2012

Thank you for the review of Canal Quays. We are glad that you liked the apartment and were pleased with the standard of our housekeeping services.

Canal Quays has views of the working harbour and that is part of the appeal of this self-catering property. We apologise if the Wi-Fi was not up to standard and we will investigate.

We hope you will give us another opportunity during your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
37
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the self contained apartments for a week during April/May.
The price was very competetive compared to other long term stays.
We were on the 3rd floor, apartment not spacious, no great view but cleaned and serviced daily with laundry facilities in the room. All amenities for cooking during our stay and 24/7 security a bonus. Slightly out of the way with the walking path to waterfront (V & A) closed off.. Only a 10 min walk into the city but a taxi needed to go to the waterfront. Taxis easily accessed around the corner in front of convention centre.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear SLFS73

Thank you for your recent review. We carefully monitor our rates to ensure that our guests receive value for money and we are pleased that you were provided with our range of services including housekeeping and laundry services.

During your next stay if you select Canal Quays again and not one of our other buildings, you can take the water taxi to the V&A Waterfront.

We hope to see you again soon and please keep in touch with us via social media!

Best regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night to attend a party at the Waterfront. If you follow the instrructions the apartment is easy to find.

The unit is beautifully furnished and luxurious. The kitchen is fully equiped with modern appliances and a washer and dryer is provided.

A large flatscreen television and comfortable sofa makes up the lounge area. A table seating four is also provided.

I enjoyed the view of Lion's Head. The property is located close to the working harbour and include a view of the harbour and canal.

The City Lodge Hotel is a stone's throw froom the building and charges almost double the rate we paid.

I would definately consider staying at this property again in future.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Lion's Head views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear CuriousMeerkatjie

Thank you for choosing to stay in one of our apartments in Canal Quays. We appreciate the time you took to write this fantastic review and we hope to see you again soon. Please remember to follow us on social media, to visit our website and to sign up for our newsletter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a Studio Apartment for 4 nights in February. The apartment has everything you could possibly need and was spotlessly clean. The view is not great but I had already been made aware of this fact and it did not bother us - after all, you don't generally spend that much time at in your apartment especially when you are only in Cape Town for a short stay. We made use of the pool everyday and were very grateful to be able to cool down as it was frightfully hot. There is a water taxi which takes you to the Waterfront and is only R30,00 per person and is valid all day. We did find it noisy when we opened the front sliding door due to the proximity to the freeway but once you close the door you don't hear anything. Staff were polite and the apartment was cleaned every day (excepting for Sunday). There is a kettle but no coffee/tea supplied, excepting for the day of arrival, so make sure to bring your own or you can get Reception to purchase whatever you require and then refund them. Unfortunately, no gym on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Kathy M

Thanks very much for taking the time to submit your review of one of our Studio apartments in Canal Quays.

We appreciate that you took the time to submit your review and that you enjoyed our great Cape Town hospitality. Please stay in touch with us and follow us on social media.

Regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom apartment here for a week stay. It was very well presented, clean and quiet. The kitchen contained pretty much everything we needed to make breakfast etc., and the rooms were cleaned daily (apart from Sunday). The view from our apartment was not the best, and the location was a little out of the way compared to apartments in the Waterfront but it is very close to the CTICC convention centre. It also included secure parking for up to two cars. Would recommend - we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Bagelobagel

Thanks for a great review of our Canal Quays apartments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent an evening at Canal quays and were very happy with the apartment,it was clean and very comfortable.On the negative side,the view was terrible and the complex is situated right next to a busy and noisy highway. In future I would rather pay a bit more and stay in a complex that is in the V&A waterfront and not on the outskirts.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for the review. Canal Quays is a four self-catering hotel located close to the historic operational harbour, which is part of the appeal of this property. In cases where guests prefer to be close to the V&A Waterfront, we can offer them five star accommodation at the numerous Marina properties overlooking the yacht marina or the canal waterway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

After 2,5 hours driving through Cape town (it was very hard to find the access to the complex) we finally arrived to the apartment. The apartment was very nice and luxurious. We even had a dishwasher and washing machine. The location is close to the waterfront and the stop of the sight seeing bus. It was nice to sit on our balcony, the best terrace of the city. Perfect place to explore the city.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for such a great review. We are pleased that your stay with us was memorable. For your next stay with us please contact our guest services team who will gladly assist you with directions or arrange for your transport to the hotel. We hope to see you again, many happy travels, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Quays

Address: 1 Anchor Way, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a serene location overlooking the beautiful working harbour of Cape Town. Canal Quays is a modern property classically furnished and ideally positioned on the canal waterway. This venue affords guests the comfort of spacious self-catering apartments in a quiet area of the city. Canal Quays is ideal for business and leisure as it's a stroll to the Cape Town International Convention Centre, and within walking distance to the city's financial district and a short drive to various shopping centres, restaurants and major attractions. Each modern apartment is equipped with a kitchen, open-plan dining and lounge areas, including spacious bedrooms, which makes Canal Quays suitable for short and long stays in Cape Town. Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharge applicable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canal Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Quays Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.