We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Canal Quays to your Saves list
Canal Quays
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Anchor Way, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Served its purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the self contained apartments for a week during April/May.
The price was very competetive compared to other long term stays.
We were on the 3rd floor, apartment not spacious, no great view but cleaned and serviced daily with laundry facilities in the room. All amenities for cooking during our stay and 24/7 security a bonus. Slightly out of the way with the walking path to waterfront (V & A) closed off.. Only a 10 min walk into the city but a taxi needed to go to the waterfront. Taxis easily accessed around the corner in front of convention centre.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear SLFS73

Thank you for your recent review. We carefully monitor our rates to ensure that our guests receive value for money and we are pleased that you were provided with our range of services including housekeeping and laundry services.

During your next stay if you select Canal Quays again and not one of our other buildings, you can take the water taxi to the V&A Waterfront.

We hope to see you again soon and please keep in touch with us via social media!

Best regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
23
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night to attend a party at the Waterfront. If you follow the instrructions the apartment is easy to find.

The unit is beautifully furnished and luxurious. The kitchen is fully equiped with modern appliances and a washer and dryer is provided.

A large flatscreen television and comfortable sofa makes up the lounge area. A table seating four is also provided.

I enjoyed the view of Lion's Head. The property is located close to the working harbour and include a view of the harbour and canal.

The City Lodge Hotel is a stone's throw froom the building and charges almost double the rate we paid.

I would definately consider staying at this property again in future.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Lion's Head views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear CuriousMeerkatjie

Thank you for choosing to stay in one of our apartments in Canal Quays. We appreciate the time you took to write this fantastic review and we hope to see you again soon. Please remember to follow us on social media, to visit our website and to sign up for our newsletter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a Studio Apartment for 4 nights in February. The apartment has everything you could possibly need and was spotlessly clean. The view is not great but I had already been made aware of this fact and it did not bother us - after all, you don't generally spend that much time at in your apartment especially when you are only in Cape Town for a short stay. We made use of the pool everyday and were very grateful to be able to cool down as it was frightfully hot. There is a water taxi which takes you to the Waterfront and is only R30,00 per person and is valid all day. We did find it noisy when we opened the front sliding door due to the proximity to the freeway but once you close the door you don't hear anything. Staff were polite and the apartment was cleaned every day (excepting for Sunday). There is a kettle but no coffee/tea supplied, excepting for the day of arrival, so make sure to bring your own or you can get Reception to purchase whatever you require and then refund them. Unfortunately, no gym on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Kathy M

Thanks very much for taking the time to submit your review of one of our Studio apartments in Canal Quays.

We appreciate that you took the time to submit your review and that you enjoyed our great Cape Town hospitality. Please stay in touch with us and follow us on social media.

Regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom apartment here for a week stay. It was very well presented, clean and quiet. The kitchen contained pretty much everything we needed to make breakfast etc., and the rooms were cleaned daily (apart from Sunday). The view from our apartment was not the best, and the location was a little out of the way compared to apartments in the Waterfront but it is very close to the CTICC convention centre. It also included secure parking for up to two cars. Would recommend - we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Bagelobagel

Thanks for a great review of our Canal Quays apartments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Home from Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent an evening at Canal quays and were very happy with the apartment,it was clean and very comfortable.On the negative side,the view was terrible and the complex is situated right next to a busy and noisy highway. In future I would rather pay a bit more and stay in a complex that is in the V&A waterfront and not on the outskirts.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for the review. Canal Quays is a four self-catering hotel located close to the historic operational harbour, which is part of the appeal of this property. In cases where guests prefer to be close to the V&A Waterfront, we can offer them five star accommodation at the numerous Marina properties overlooking the yacht marina or the canal waterway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

After 2,5 hours driving through Cape town (it was very hard to find the access to the complex) we finally arrived to the apartment. The apartment was very nice and luxurious. We even had a dishwasher and washing machine. The location is close to the waterfront and the stop of the sight seeing bus. It was nice to sit on our balcony, the best terrace of the city. Perfect place to explore the city.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for such a great review. We are pleased that your stay with us was memorable. For your next stay with us please contact our guest services team who will gladly assist you with directions or arrange for your transport to the hotel. We hope to see you again, many happy travels, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This condo is located within a very short cab ride to the VA Waterfront. This is a wonderful self catering facility. If you're looking for all the hotel amenities rhis isn't rhe place. Safe and secure lodging with views of the harbor. Washing machine and dryer located within condo. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Canal Quays, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review. We hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future. Please visit us on our website, follow us on Facebook and sign up for our newsletter so we can keep in touch with you. Happy travels, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Quays

Address: 1 Anchor Way, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a serene location overlooking the beautiful working harbour of Cape Town. Canal Quays is a modern property classically furnished and ideally positioned on the canal waterway. This venue affords guests the comfort of spacious self-catering apartments in a quiet area of the city. Canal Quays is ideal for business and leisure as it's a stroll to the Cape Town International Convention Centre, and within walking distance to the city's financial district and a short drive to various shopping centres, restaurants and major attractions. Each modern apartment is equipped with a kitchen, open-plan dining and lounge areas, including spacious bedrooms, which makes Canal Quays suitable for short and long stays in Cape Town. Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharge applicable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canal Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Quays Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.