We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The boerewoors, an iconic south african food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gourmet Boerie

Gourmet Boerie
8 Kloof Street | Shop 5, Buitenkloof Studios, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
+27 21 424 4208
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Street Food
Description: Home of the South African gourmet boerewors roll
Zaragoza (Spain)
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The boerewoors, an iconic south african food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

One of the most iconic food in South Africa is the boerewors (you may call it boerie) It is the king of south african barbeques and one of the favorites for families at home. And yet... you may have some problems to find it in restaurants menu. Fortunately if you are visiting wonderful Cape Town there is a place, Gourmet Boerie (gourmetboerie.co.za) where you can taste it in more than a dozen varieties from the classic, to the”hangover”, to more exotic springbok or ostrich. All are fairly priced (from 48 Rands for a traditional boerie roll). And you can wash them down with a pint of fine craft beer in a local modern and bright (if a little IKEA type). A stop greatly recommended for every traveler wishing to know a part of the country food legacy. It is in 8 Kloof Street, two steps away from the busy bars in Long Street, (but take care its’ doors closes at 10:30pm)

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Boerie Rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Good food and a relaxed atmosphere. If you cannot decide which Boerie to eat try their sample tray, it gives an assortment of the rolls but just on a smaller size. Oh yes and cold locally brewed beer.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Found this place through word of mouth and via the wonders of Twitter. As it was a 5 minute walk from our guesthouse we thought, a perfect lunch. Really pleased we did, super tasty Warthog boerie with a mushroom topping (loads more are on offer!) good selection of local beers as well and key if you're a tourist free, fast & reliable WiFi!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Very nice and cozy place at a convenient location near Long St. We tried the beer tasters and boerie sliders. They were all wonderful and it was fun tasting all these kinds of "hot dogs". The mini dessert platter is a must, especially the malva pudding. We're definitely coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good vibe, average boerie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I so want to give this place a five star rating! The concept is incredible and the vibe and decor is spot on and perfect for this area - it has an airy atmosphere and you feel comfortable in the space. It certainly is 100% better than what was in the space before! I went with friends who were sceptical about the 'overpriced boerewors rolls' (which, let us admit, are quite pricey). The irony is that I walked out disappointed and they walked out quite impressed. I had the Gorgonzola boerie roll which I didn’t really like at all - lacked a bit of zing and flavour, and was a bit too sweet for my liking (this is following a rating as being the ‘top 10 burger in the world as voted for by British Airways’….hmmmmm). My last complaint – the ‘house red’ wine was either corked or just really bad red wine. Perhaps something for management to look into. Anyway, on a positive note the drinks were reasonably priced and the service was quick and efficient. It will be worth a second shot in the future.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Boerie also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Gourmet Boerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourmet Boerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.