We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vovo Telo

Vovo Telo
Cape Town Harbor | Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
021 418 3750
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stopped here at the V and A for a quick coffee and a bite to eat. The coffee was delicious, as was the freshly baked olive and cheese bread. We only stayed for half an hour but I'd certainly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    52
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Itala, Italy
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Sumptuous Breakfast at V&A Waterfront, Cape Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Extensive and interesting menu for breakfast. Favorite with tourists and locals, especially over weekends. Home baked breads and pastries, divine fresh fruit juices like carrot, apple and beetroot. The service is really good and VoVo Telo is a great place to while away the morning. My favorite is the wild berry crumpets with cream cheese. The barista knows how to make the best coffee in the Waterfront.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had breakfast here whilst in Cape Town to support friends cycling the infamous Argus bike race. One of the best breakfast menus I have seen and it lived up to its name with home made breads and excellent service. Definitely worth a visit if you at the Waterfront for sightseeing or shopping, and it didn't seem to be full of tourists.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“V+A Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

With so many places on the V+A being unpleasantly loud, not particularly clean or too touristy we found Vovo Telo a bit refreshing. It is right by the base entrance to the big wheel so easy to find. They make their own breads and pasta and serve huge cake slices! We went a couple of times just for drinks but also enjoyed lunch meals during our stay.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Manager should spend less time making jokes and more time getting the service right here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Only stopped here for a couple of teas and muffins while shopping at the Waterfront. Service was very slow, and although there were a lot of staff none of them seemed to be serving. The manager thought he was a laugh a minute cracking jokes but seemed to have missed the point that customers would only be in a mood for laughing if he got the service right. Ordered bran muffins and got blueberry, but by then given it up as a bad decision to sit there at all.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vovo Telo also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Vovo Telo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vovo Telo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.