We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, stylish and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Place to your Saves list
Kensington Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Cool, stylish and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Unfortunately we were only here for I night but will be back. It's a cool place to stay, well chosen contemporary art, stylish furniture and a pleasant and comfortable place to relax. And possibly the best hotel breakfast we've had, no low fat yoghurt here thank goodness. Our room was very comfortable, great view and the bed was excellent. The staff were helpful and charming and the recommended local restaurants were very good. Wish there were more hotels like this.

Room Tip: We had the view over CT which was super
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Richard A

Thank you for your review! I am very happy you had a such a lovely (albeit short!) stay with us. Please come and visit us again!

With kind regards

Austen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
151
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our first visit to Cape Town. We had a beautiful, big and comfortable room. The staff could not do enough to help us and made some great dinner recommendations including a delicious Greek restaurant at a local square. The breakfasts are the best I have ever had. The hotel is ideally located and we walked into town and back. It's also very close to table mountain. My only minor gripe is the tiny, cold pool!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Niamh G

Thank you for reviewing Kensington Place! Always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback - it's a tribute to my wonderful team.

I am so sorry that the pool was so cold - I am in the process of upgrading the heat pump to take the chill off during winter.

Please do visit us again.

Kind regards

Austen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband surprised me for Valentines day and took me to stay at this beautiful place. We were welcomed by the friendly staff and entered into a modern property with sophisticated decor and finishings. We had a stunning room on the top floor with views of the city and table mountain. The pool was a relaxing break away and the kitchen spoilt us with delicious cheese straws as a snack. When we returned to our room after dinner there was a romantic turndown with sparkling wine, strawberries dipped in chocolate and rose petals around the bath. The breakfast in the morning was divine. My favourite was the tasty muesli / granola. Overall a beautiful place to enjoy a relaxing break away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Sam_Boshoff

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you could get some time away with your husband on Valentines day and spend it at Kensington Place! We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely

Austen
General Manager

PS. Let us know if we can help you plan a surprise weekend away for your husband's birthday - our homemade chocolate cakes are a treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed 5 nights and felt well cared for by the staff and enjoyed the amenities. Our room was one of the smaller ones which felt cramped at times, however, we usually rested near the pool which was very pleasant and not crowded. The breakfast meals were superb and they will customize if needed. Best of all the staff could not have been more helpful with dinner reservations, places to go, car rental, cabs etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the great review - always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback! We're delighted you've enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards from Cape Town

Austen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Staying in superior room (#5) for a single night. Excellent beds and super service. Very clean. Breakfast very nice with lots of choices - all served at the table. On negative side : no newspaper (maybe on request) and the curtains are horrible (they do not ban the light - its crazy in a place like this that designs wins over functionality. You should fix these if you want to compete with the big boys and charge the rates ! Otherwise nothing to complain. Location nice too - views of Table Mountain and close to Kloof street.

Room Tip: Superior room is good value for money and offers a nice sitting area and large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEnthusiastZA, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kensington Place - thank you for the positive feedback and constructive remarks. Our curtains do have full block-out lining, however light can seep through the sides. We are currently looking for an alternative solution. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kensington Place in the not-too-distant future!

Regards,

Austen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A fab, genuinely boutique hotel with just a few rooms and personal service, while meeting 5 star standards.

We had one of the rooms on the other side of the pool which was a good space with a great and sizeable bathroom. It was clean and well appointed.

We were really well looked after by the staff, who were knowledgeable and keen to help organise (they booked us dinner for every night of our stay "just in case" as we'd enquired about restaurants and were then to busy to get back to them).

I would note we had a car which I felt was pretty essential for getting around so if you are not going to have one you may want to be in the centre of Camps Bay or similar but I felt the car was key to us seeing all Cape Town had to offer anyway.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel in a lovely city. We spent three nights here with our two teenage children. Austen welcomed us so warmly and all the staff were really friendly. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and well appointed. The views from the balcony were lovely and the pool area a real bonus. Cannot think of anything that I would change!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.