We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service and A Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Save Saved
You added Kensington Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kensington Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Superior Service and A Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Kensington Place is a small boutique hotel nestled at the foot of Table Mountain behind a tall privacy wall. The driveway fits 2-3 cars at best. Inside the security gate there were tended gardens and a small plunge pool. As I entered the hotel there was a cozy bar to the right, and the lounge with fireplace to the left, both rooms were chic, colorful and warm. Austin, the new hotel manager, smiled and we shook hands. He was exceptionally hospitable in every way - one of the coolest guys I met the entire time in Cape Town. He took me up to my room, #2 (Superior), where he showed me around. I was absolutely blown away. The king bed looked to be wonderfully comfortable. The large flat screen tv swiveled perfectly into view from either the elegant couch or bed, on opposite sides of the room. I spied a complementary laptop and relished the air conditioning (February can be quite warm in Cape Town). The balcony offered a view of the gardens and a small pool, with Table Mountain to the right. It was rather large and a great place to lounge in the cool evening breeze. The bathroom was elegant, to say the least. The ceiling mounted rain shower literally felt like being in a warm rain. The cons to this hotel? The location is not as desirable as the VA Waterfront or Camp’s Bay (which are 5 minutes away by taxi) although there are a number of great local restaurants within walking distance. The pool was not exceptional. However, what this hotel lacked in location and amenities, was by far overshadowed by the marvelous room and stellar service. At night I left Kensington Place to have dinner at Camp’s Bay. Upon returning to Kensington Place there with a pitcher of purified ice water on the table in my room, the bed had been turned down, towels refreshed, and best of all when I walked into the bathroom there were little tea candles all around the tub. These are the small details that matter to me when I travel. The next morning I once again was greeted by every staff member by name, including by the Austin the manager. I sat down to have a complimentary breakfast, which is not a large wasteful buffet like you find at the larger hotels, but instead a menu with some truly great dishes on it. I has an exceptional omelet and their coffee was fantastic (coming from Seattle I know my coffee). Kensington Place really impressed me – much more than I thought it would before traveling… it is a great value, has a superb host in Austin, and the service far exceeded my expectations… and let's not forget the awesome room!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
134
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was originally planning on staying for one day but extended it to three. Don't even bother with the cheesy downtown hotels. This place is just excellent. Service like you haven't seen before. Location is pretty good too but you need to use cabs. Not walkable especially at night and uphill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kplace, General Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review Kensington Place - our only regret is that you couldn't stay for three more days! It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kensington Place and the beautiful city of Cape Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

After reading such positive, warm reviews on this site, my skeptical London eyes were sure that this place could never live up to the hype.
It does. In buckets. Big ones.
Best thing - the staff, who have obviously travelled widely themselves and understand what a modern day luxury experience is. You're not a guest, you're a friend that's yet to be met and most importantly a person.
I won't spoil the surprise and delight in discovering what it's like to live in a place where each and every need is anticipated and surpassed.
I never give a 10, but this place is close on a 9.99.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kplace, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on Kensington Place, Boutique Hotel, Cape Town. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Chris weir
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A return visit to Cape Town offered the opportunity to experience Kensington Place once again. And it's still the most perfect place to stay in South Africa. It's the ideal location for the city's fantastic restaurants, shopping and beaches - and the staff anticipate every possible need. Austen and his team are wonderful hosts, so it's not surprising that KP continues to receive such excellent ratings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Honeymoon trip in November - this hotel stood out in every way - decor, location and service!
Rooms cater for every need, and waking up in the morning with a view of Table Mountain - well you just cant get better!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kplace, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kensington Place, Cape Town.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in teh near futre.
Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I am still here and dont want to leave. Its a private Hotel, very stylish with honestly friendly stuff. Esp. Austen is very helpful. The breakfast is excellent. The rooms very nice. The location is not central but you reach every part of the city in minutes.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kplace, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for your review and feedback, as an owner it is important to have feedback of this nature.
I hope to welcome you back to Kensington Place in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really nice place, great view of Table mountain (your backyard basically), the service is impeccable, very "one on one" kind of service, lovely decoration and furniture, comfortable and personnel touches that you can't find in the 5 star hotels, attention to details, wonderful breakfast, quite neighborhood yet very close to everything in Capetown and great little touches in the room (heated bathroom floor, laptop with Skype accessories, incredible comfortable bed, and many other toys). Strongly recommended. Thank you to all the great staff: Austin, Marlene, Blessings, Chris, Henry, the guards outside (sorry, can't remember their names). The best Granola ever at breakfast, their own secret mix reciepe, very yummy, make sure you it for breakfast with yogurt and fruit :)

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic except for one small room which they will not give to you unless they are fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.