We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Place to your Saves list
Kensington Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfection in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Rarely have I stayed in a hotel - in any location or for any length of time - in which everything was absolutely perfect. Except here.

This is a small property perched at the base of Table Mountain amongst a prestige residential neighborhood. Exquisite views. Privacy. Comfort. And superb service.

Every need is anticipated without an intrusion into privacy of the guests.

This will be my obvious destination of choice upon future visits to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
166
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This lovely, gracious hotel has one of the finest views of every aspect of Cape Town, nestled high up in a hilly realm and offering exquisite views of Table Mountain, the city, and the sea. The hotel is elegant but understated, with excellent art on the walls and exceptionally comfortable public spaces and guest rooms. It feels more like being a guest in someone’s beautiful home. The breakfast and snacks are always available at any time of day to suit each guest’s needs, and the food was excellent. But the crowning asset of this wonderful hotel is the excellent staff, across every role from the superb concierges/hotel managers to the wait staff to the maids and the doormen. Austin in particular was a treasure, proactively anticipating how we could best enjoy the city, helping facilitate every aspect of our stay, and responding to each request beyond the call of duty without ever being intrusive. His restaurant recommendations were superb. It does not hurt that he is handsome, charming, adaptable, and good-natured. He and the staff took the initiative to help us celebrate the birthday of one of our party with a bottle of champagne and an excellent cake. We would gladly come back to this treasure of a place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are especially nice, especially on the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great brak river RSA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just one night spent there, in Jan 13, and regrets to have to quit!
Excellent welcome, very comfortable and elegant lounge area, room impeccable, large and well designed (cupboards would need a bot of renovation), great bathroom - small balcony, direct independent access to the room we had with parking at the door (off street). Nice and affordable bar. We had no time to enjoy full breakfast but an excellent light one was served at 6am to our room to allow us early leave for the airport.
Price is up the level of the service, at least in Cape Town where tariffs are not often giving good value. A place to rest in warm luxury after a day exploring Cape Town

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We arrived to be welcomed with open arms. I simply cannot rate this high enough, absolute perfection, we will return with our children and use it as a base before a family safari. fantastic night's sleep - everything was amazing. Great choice of food, cocktails even advice on local restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble at all. AMAZING.

Room Tip: They are all superb and to the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm flummoxed how anyone could not rate this place a 5 star property. From the moment we arrived we were treated as if we were royalty. Austin, the young GM, looks like he stepped off the cover of GQ. He immediately attended to our every need, and made reservations at restaurants he thought we would enjoy. All of them were top notch, and one we revisited it was so good. Mark the night manager was also alert to any request of ours. No question went unanswered or fully explained. This is how thoughtful they are. When learning one of our group had a birthday they made us a birthday cake AND contributed a bottle of champagne, gratis. This is what separates the good from the great, and this place is great. Another example? By the pool is a basket filled with sunscreen, towels and loads of other stuff for your use. It was if they anticipated your every need before you thought of it. Breakfast was a never ending feast served by a smiling Blessing. All of the staff were as happy as we were, except they were working and we were on vacation. Go figure. Just joyful and accommodating attitudes. The rooms were modern, not lacking anything, with oversized bathtubs you could swim in and enormous,sleep inducing beds. The hotel itself sits at the base of Table Mountain in a quiet residential section, but it is only 10 minutes away from just about any spot in the city. Add it up - fabulous service, beautiful rooms, superb breakfast (and the ability to make just about whatever you want when ever you want) in a secluded, tranquil setting. I recommend Kensington Place without hesitation to anyone who desires a pampered, chic hotel in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you have trouble with the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you like Radisson SAS, Hilton, Intercontinental, etc. please do not go there! This is special place for people looking for the best, for the charming atmosphere and personal touch. Jammy breakfast nice view and location. If coming from abroad and familiar with the local rules, places to go, to eat - you will be guided by the lovely owner or the team. Believe, recommendations are worth it. This would definitively be place to come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We arrived after a whole days travel and were warmly greeted by Michael. It is such a pleasant, private hotel ( 7 rooms only! ) and it was a shame we didn't get to stay long enough to enjoy it some more! Our room was facing Cape Town with a view of Table Mountain to the side which was absolutely stunning. Our room was spacious, comfortable and always clean. The breakfasts were amazing, make sure you give yourself time to enjoy it before rushing out to see all that this interesting city has to offer. The hotel service is very thoughtful - suntan lotion by the pool readily available, sarongs to borrow right at the side of the lounge chairs, restaurant reservations, early breakfast to cater for your early shark dive tours (getting up at 4am in the morning!) and I'm sure the list can be endless! it was a great stay and we are so glad we stayed here for part of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.