We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLUSH AND COMFY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Save Saved
You added Kensington Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
great brak river RSA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“PLUSH AND COMFY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just one night spent there, in Jan 13, and regrets to have to quit!
Excellent welcome, very comfortable and elegant lounge area, room impeccable, large and well designed (cupboards would need a bot of renovation), great bathroom - small balcony, direct independent access to the room we had with parking at the door (off street). Nice and affordable bar. We had no time to enjoy full breakfast but an excellent light one was served at 6am to our room to allow us early leave for the airport.
Price is up the level of the service, at least in Cape Town where tariffs are not often giving good value. A place to rest in warm luxury after a day exploring Cape Town

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
137
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We arrived to be welcomed with open arms. I simply cannot rate this high enough, absolute perfection, we will return with our children and use it as a base before a family safari. fantastic night's sleep - everything was amazing. Great choice of food, cocktails even advice on local restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble at all. AMAZING.

Room Tip: They are all superb and to the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm flummoxed how anyone could not rate this place a 5 star property. From the moment we arrived we were treated as if we were royalty. Austin, the young GM, looks like he stepped off the cover of GQ. He immediately attended to our every need, and made reservations at restaurants he thought we would enjoy. All of them were top notch, and one we revisited it was so good. Mark the night manager was also alert to any request of ours. No question went unanswered or fully explained. This is how thoughtful they are. When learning one of our group had a birthday they made us a birthday cake AND contributed a bottle of champagne, gratis. This is what separates the good from the great, and this place is great. Another example? By the pool is a basket filled with sunscreen, towels and loads of other stuff for your use. It was if they anticipated your every need before you thought of it. Breakfast was a never ending feast served by a smiling Blessing. All of the staff were as happy as we were, except they were working and we were on vacation. Go figure. Just joyful and accommodating attitudes. The rooms were modern, not lacking anything, with oversized bathtubs you could swim in and enormous,sleep inducing beds. The hotel itself sits at the base of Table Mountain in a quiet residential section, but it is only 10 minutes away from just about any spot in the city. Add it up - fabulous service, beautiful rooms, superb breakfast (and the ability to make just about whatever you want when ever you want) in a secluded, tranquil setting. I recommend Kensington Place without hesitation to anyone who desires a pampered, chic hotel in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you have trouble with the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you like Radisson SAS, Hilton, Intercontinental, etc. please do not go there! This is special place for people looking for the best, for the charming atmosphere and personal touch. Jammy breakfast nice view and location. If coming from abroad and familiar with the local rules, places to go, to eat - you will be guided by the lovely owner or the team. Believe, recommendations are worth it. This would definitively be place to come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We arrived after a whole days travel and were warmly greeted by Michael. It is such a pleasant, private hotel ( 7 rooms only! ) and it was a shame we didn't get to stay long enough to enjoy it some more! Our room was facing Cape Town with a view of Table Mountain to the side which was absolutely stunning. Our room was spacious, comfortable and always clean. The breakfasts were amazing, make sure you give yourself time to enjoy it before rushing out to see all that this interesting city has to offer. The hotel service is very thoughtful - suntan lotion by the pool readily available, sarongs to borrow right at the side of the lounge chairs, restaurant reservations, early breakfast to cater for your early shark dive tours (getting up at 4am in the morning!) and I'm sure the list can be endless! it was a great stay and we are so glad we stayed here for part of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

What a great little hotel. Absolutely charming, especially the staff who were all very sweet and welcoming. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

There are, however, one or two points people should be aware of:
- It is very small, which is great, because you get wonderfully attentive and personal service. However, you should be aware of it if you are expecting a bigger hotel.
- One downside of it being small is that it does not have the ammenities that you would expect of a five star hotel (on-site gym, etc.). It does however, have all-day room service (which was good!).
- It is a little out of the way. At least that is how it felt to me. That being said, it is closer to Camps Bay than the CBD.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived at KP travel weary from our overnight flight. We quickly felt rejuvenated after such a lovely welcome from Sasha, which included a glass of champagne. Our room was extremely comfortable with a wonderful bathroom and view. Dinner suggestions were all spot on. The staff were so attentive without over doing it and nothing was too much trouble. KP was a perfect place to start our South African adventure. Would thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: The room along from the plunge pool has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.