We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect (and exclusive) Place to stay in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Place to your Saves list
Kensington Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Hamburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Perfect (and exclusive) Place to stay in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had 4 nights at the end of our trip through South Africa and have very much appreciated the great hospitality and the exclusive rooms we had (with a great view over Cape Town and Lions Head, when looking around). Management as well as staff have been very kind and helpfully. As Kensington Place has only a view rooms (I assume it were only 8) it has a very private atmosphere in contrast to bigger hotel chains. After all I hope that we will be able to visit Cape Town again soon, and in this case we will consider this 'place' again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
165
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Earlier this year I had the pleasure at staying at Kensington Place for the second time. Marlene made us feel special from the time I arrived to the time I left. The decor is tasteful and stylish. The property has a relaxed and sophisticated ambiance. Each guest is looked after in a highly personalised way that is so rare these days, even in smaller boutique hotels. There is attention to detail in every aspect. The delicious breakfast options are a highlight. I hope my travels take me to Cape Town in the future so that I can enjoy Kensington Place’s warm hospitality again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

KP is an excellent, comfortable and exceptionally well managed boutique hotel - we'd stay again (a family of four, including 2 teenage children) without question. The hotel rests at the foot of table mountain and is a 10 minute taxi ride from the Waterfront shopping area, and 20 -25 minutes away from the airport. The rooms are modern, large and comfortable with useful extras like free wi-fi much appreciated. Overall however, it's Sasha and her team that ensured our stay was both comfortable and fun... Sasha also put us in touch with an excellent guide (Rowland) who showed us the wine country, Table Mountain and Cape Point and whale watching at Hermanus. Sasha also recommended to us a succession of excellent restaurants around town. Highly recommended as one of the best boutique hotelsd we've stayed at yet. Anywhere.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best views of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 3 days of our honeymoon at Kensington Place and could not have been more pleased with our stay. Sasha and her staff were superb. We owe her our sincere thanks for her good advice, her kindness and her in depth knowledge of not only Cape Town, but of South Africa in general. We felt relaxed and at home during our entire stay. Our room was quiet, clean and the staff was attentive. The hotel itself is small and has very much a boutique feel which makes service that much more personal. Many thanks for the good restaurant suggestions both within and outside of Cape Town, as well as the activities in and out of the city (and for convincing us to relax and enjoy the lovely breakfast every morning. Delicious). We certainly look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

You want to be in CapeTown. You want to feel at home. Kensington Place will make you feel welcome, very special, take care of your needs, all in a beautiful setting, only minutes away from restaurants and wonderful amenities. Located under the mountain and in the trees of Tamboerskloof, its an all out winner.

Room Tip: Room 8. Very private, own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for your review on Kensington Place Boutique hotel, Cape Town. I am delighted that you were well looked after during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had the opportunity of staying at Kensington place in September for a few days break from reality. Sasha and her team provide effortless five star service, and definitely anticipate your every need. The rooms are beautiful with everything you could possibly need and the breakfasts are to die for. The Eggs Benedict was my favourite! Very good location and within walking distance to many good restaurants, with Longstreet & Kloof street (shopping!) just down the road. The hotel is very well laid out with every space in good use. We truly loved our stay here and would recommend anyone in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room, fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of Kensington Place Cape Town. As the owner I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The service at Kensington Place is excellent. Sasha and Michael were very attentive. The rooms, including the guest lounge and our room were outdated with 60's style furniture that is a bit worn. Our room included an extremely low and unfortable couch and a coffee table only inches off the floor, the bed was comfortable. The area did not appear to be safe, hence the barb wire and security guards. Next time we will stay near the beach in the newer section of town.

Room Tip: If you stay here be sure to ask for a room with a covered balcony and a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. The area is certainly not unsafe it is an area that is home to teh Premier of the Western Cape and many high end dignatories. The security fencing (its not barbed wire) and security guards is a precautinary measure more than anything else. It is our philosophy not to take short cuts when it comes to service and safety of our guests is part of this. With regard to outdated furniture, I am surprised that you consider leading Italian modernist designers as 60's and outdated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.