We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Inviting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kensington Place to your Saves list
Kensington Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm and Inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 3 days of our honeymoon at Kensington Place and could not have been more pleased with our stay. Sasha and her staff were superb. We owe her our sincere thanks for her good advice, her kindness and her in depth knowledge of not only Cape Town, but of South Africa in general. We felt relaxed and at home during our entire stay. Our room was quiet, clean and the staff was attentive. The hotel itself is small and has very much a boutique feel which makes service that much more personal. Many thanks for the good restaurant suggestions both within and outside of Cape Town, as well as the activities in and out of the city (and for convincing us to relax and enjoy the lovely breakfast every morning. Delicious). We certainly look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
143
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

You want to be in CapeTown. You want to feel at home. Kensington Place will make you feel welcome, very special, take care of your needs, all in a beautiful setting, only minutes away from restaurants and wonderful amenities. Located under the mountain and in the trees of Tamboerskloof, its an all out winner.

Room Tip: Room 8. Very private, own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for your review on Kensington Place Boutique hotel, Cape Town. I am delighted that you were well looked after during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had the opportunity of staying at Kensington place in September for a few days break from reality. Sasha and her team provide effortless five star service, and definitely anticipate your every need. The rooms are beautiful with everything you could possibly need and the breakfasts are to die for. The Eggs Benedict was my favourite! Very good location and within walking distance to many good restaurants, with Longstreet & Kloof street (shopping!) just down the road. The hotel is very well laid out with every space in good use. We truly loved our stay here and would recommend anyone in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room, fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of Kensington Place Cape Town. As the owner I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The service at Kensington Place is excellent. Sasha and Michael were very attentive. The rooms, including the guest lounge and our room were outdated with 60's style furniture that is a bit worn. Our room included an extremely low and unfortable couch and a coffee table only inches off the floor, the bed was comfortable. The area did not appear to be safe, hence the barb wire and security guards. Next time we will stay near the beach in the newer section of town.

Room Tip: If you stay here be sure to ask for a room with a covered balcony and a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. The area is certainly not unsafe it is an area that is home to teh Premier of the Western Cape and many high end dignatories. The security fencing (its not barbed wire) and security guards is a precautinary measure more than anything else. It is our philosophy not to take short cuts when it comes to service and safety of our guests is part of this. With regard to outdated furniture, I am surprised that you consider leading Italian modernist designers as 60's and outdated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good points 
- service is brilliant. They book you into a number of restaurants before arriving. You can then do some research once you are there to see if you want to go to any of them. 
- breakfast was amazing. Great choice of freshly squeezed juices and great choices of cooked breakfasts. 
- views from the rooms very nice. 
- overall decor and interior design is like out of a magazine
- nice outdoor sitting area and small pool. 

Not so good:
- beds/mattresses in our room were quite old and could do with replacing

Overall, five out of five. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just got here a couple of hours ago from USA.It was dark outside and dropped off at the gate...looked like a ymca from that vantage...big iron door... Boy was I pleasantly surprised... This is one of the nicest hotels ive been to ...around the world...my wife was hungry at 10:30 and they opened the kitchen just for her. They made reservations for us at restaurants for the next few days...you gotta stay here... Plan ahead... Only 8 rooms...will report on the rest of the stay..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

AHHHHH!!!! This place is just incredible. We stayed for the first 4 nights of our two weeks in Africa. What a way to start. The staff take care of you like family--they are so kind and gracious. Upon arrival at around 10pm, we were greeted with two glasses of pinotage, light dinner, and a roaring fireplace. They were happy to let us relax by the fire until a little after midnight-even though we were the last ones to our rooms-they just waited patiently and had the porter go ahead and take down all of our bags and prepare our room. The rooms were perfect, large, private. Everyone else is commenting on the details-they do such a great job with the details! Molten Brown in the bathrooms, two types of bath salts, candles lit for your bath every night when you come home from dinner (which was booked at the best place in town by Sasha).

I was so jet lagged, I was up almost all night the second night we stayed...and drank too much wine at dinner! I called reception at 4am for tea and toast thinking that maybe...just maybe...and low and behold they deliver a full tray of goodies--coffee, tea, toast, cookies, amazing.

And yes, Sasha makes your dinner reservations. She secured tables that we tried 2mo out to book and couldn't. Breakfast is perfect-you know how so many places say they are offering breakfast, but nothing is hot-no eggs, etc? Well Kensington gives you a cold and hot course--with the most amazing omelet with avocado.

Guys, you seriously have to stay here! I was tempted by all of the PR from the One and Only...only to go to their bar for an afternoon drink and find it is very impersonal and not nearly to the standards of the other One and Only's. Maybe it was because it was winter? I don't know, but I couldn't get back to Kensington fast enough.

Ya'll did excellent! Thanks!

Room Tip: LOVED our room out by the pool--super secluded...and I love pools so it was nice to be so close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.