We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Place to your Saves list
Kensington Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
763 reviews 763 reviews
201 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
486 helpful votes 486 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at Kensington. It was one of our best stays ever.

The property is set in a quiet residential neighborhood but within walking distance of most of the city. Amazing views of Table Mountain and Lions Head. Reserve room #1 for two patios with excellent views and a nice fireplace.

The entire place is very modern, super clean, and very welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing, and the staff are among the best in the business.

We hated to leave. Don't bother staying anywhere else. This is the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kensington plave, hotel, Cape Town, it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kensington Place soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
151
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at Kensington Place as part of our Honeymoon back in 2009 and it remains, to this day, the measuring rod by which all other hotels should be measured.

Indeed, it hasn't yet been bettered. The rooms, public spaces, staff, food, location etc etc were sheer perfection- we can't speak highly enough of this place- and no amount of superlatives can do it justice.

It was also a lovely treat, and pleasant surprise on check-in, to have been pre-booked into all the best Cape Town restaurants (FYI: the food in Cape Town is astonishingly good).

I'm presuming Kensington Place is still as good as it was back in 2009- if it is, you really must do yourself a favour and stay here immediately!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over Europe
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Simply a superb place to stay! Fashionable and clean/unuttered decor, a pool and lounge chairs, all set in a green garden nestled under table mountain. Breakfasts are generous and Blessings is a lovely hostess who will even offer up the recipe to the home-made muesli! Michael is another warm and friendly host who arranges anything and everything you need. The pre-booked reservations for the top restaurants in town for each night of our stay was also appreciated. All in all, you can't ask for more!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Great location set in the foothills of Table Mountain and at the top of Kloof street. Fabulous breakfast was served on our terrace which was available to order ALL DAY (which made a significant contribution to making the whole experience very relaxing without having to rush up to make it to breakfast each day). Service from Michael, Marlene and Sasha was extremely helpful, discreet and always prompt. Great restaurant recommendations, particularly Il Leone. We had some laundry done during our stay which was returned the same day beautifully presented in a box, little touches like this contributed to the overall luxurious feeling of this hotel. Although the outside space is limited, the service and relaxing vibe of the hotel more than made up for this.

Room Tip: I would recommend the only ground floor room by the pool which has reasonable outside space which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Staying at Kensington Place is like having family in Cape Town. The hotel is just a delight, the rooms are great, the breakfast is one of the best and the staff friendly and always on hand to help. A big thank you to Sasha, Marlene, Michael and the team. Fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Just spent 6 nights at one of my favourite and certainly one of the coolest, hippest hotels in Cape Town - Kensington Place. Very stylish and classy with a wonderful energy. Its everything you could dream a small boutique hotel could be. Staff & service - fantastic and friendly. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Loved the food, even though breakfast is included I couldn't resist ordering from the menu for lunch and dinner when I could. Make their own divine bread and muesli. Perfect location, close to everything yet out of the hustle and bustle of other touristy venues. Great energy to the place. Loved it and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My partner and I came to S.A. to celebrate a good friend's 50th birthday. Having saved up some money, we decided to treat ourselves this trip.

We enjoyed our stay in general - wonderful breakfast, attentive staffs and spacious rooms.

The only missing detail is the electrical outlets in the bathrooms. They went extra miles to have the dual (110 - 220v) plugs but none of them worked. So we ended up shaving in the room. And make sure you bring a S.A. electrical adaptor because it's different from the European and the Asian ones.

The pool was a little small but it's cozy at the same time. It's a bonus to take a refreshing dip at the end of the day after a hot day walking the Table Mountain, downtown, Cape of Good Hope, Robben Island ...etc

Location-wise, the hotel nicely sits at mid-level that rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors have nice views of Cape Town. It's not walking distance to downtown but it's just a short taxi ride to all the sight-seeing spots.

Will definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Pick upstairs rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
416chrisweir, Owner at Kensington Place, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. Please let me know the dates you stayed with us and the name you were booked in as. Terribly sorry to hear about your plug in the bathroom not working. Which room did you stay in? We cant test every plug every day and this is the first complaint of this nature. Had we been informed we would have attended to it immediately. We provide adaptors to all our guests, had you asked we would have given you one.
Generally our guests do walk to the city even if they have a rental car, interesting shops down Kloof Street.
We only have one room on the ground floor with its own private garden.
I am interested to understand why you rated the sleep quality so bad. Our guests only but commend us on the quality of the beds and the sleep quality!
I am terribly sorry about the inconvenience that the plug was not working.

Regards
Chris Weir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.