We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Place to your Saves list
Kensington Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed at Kensington Place 3 nights during our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. The location is stunning (nestled right up against Table Mountain), the breakfast is delicious, and the hospitality is some of the best we've ever experienced anywhere in the world. The team at Kensington Place offered excellent recommendations for restaurants around town, booked reservations for us and spent each morning helping us plot out our day in Cape Town. Truly a wonderful, relaxing and memorable experience. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
160
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Really an amazing stay with a very attentive staff. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and well-maintained. The provided laptop and internet access was a nice touch.

The staff was incredibly helpful in terms of making dinner reservations and organizing activities.

Breakfast was good, and it's nice that they served breakfast so late.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This will be our third visit. Our 4th visit will be in May. We specifically go to Cape Town to visit KP..... Its like our 2nd home...I wish!

I love this place SO much, and what has reaffirmed this love, is that some friends stayed at another B&B/Hotel down Kloof, and came to visit. They said their B&B/Hotel didn’t have a bar, didn’t really offer much on room service and didn’t have the same vibe as KP. Sometimes we think...should we stay somewhere else? But we go back, and its still great!

The restaurants that Sasha, Micheal, Marlene the team recommend are usually fantastic, and they booked one this year that someone from Cape Town had never heard of!

There is a habit of hotels falling into bad habits and failing in standards, but that is never evident here. Always very, very clean, with the pristine bed sheets, and Molton Brown goodies; superb staff, great recommendations and a personal touch that you would not receive in the larger hotels by the V&A.

We’ll see you all in May! Hope you’re not sick of us.....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

KP is a small boutique hotel about 2 miles from the V&A Waterfront under Table Mountain in a quiet leafy location. The hotel is modern with great rooms but its the service that makes this place about as good as it gets. The two ladies Marlene and Sasha who run the hotel are fantastic and we had three nights to remember. They recommended the restuarants and all were terrific and about half the price of UK. A real gem of a place to stay when in Cape Town

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

With a backdrop of table moutain but an easy run into the city this is a great place to chill after a hectic day sightseeing. Nothing to much trouble to the staff and the rooms are very stylish coming complete with a laptop, bose ipod dock and room service. Sasha was very knowledgable about the attractoions and returants in Cape Town

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We arrived at Kensington Place as our 1st stop on our honeymoon. We were greeted at the door by Sasha and her wonderful staff. From knowing oyur names, to knowing our itinarary andmaking reservations for dinner each night, Kensington Place was the intimacy we were hoping for. You don;t get that special treatment and attention to and larger hotels with so many guests. It was wonderful to know that after long days of tours and sight-seeing, we could come back and relax at what felt completely like home! Thank you to everyone at KP for an amazing experience and we ill be returning one day...wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Kensington Place was all we could have asked for after a long trip from Livingstone (Zambia) via Johannesburg to Cape Town. We picked up a hire car at the airport from Around About Cars, who I would highly recommend for their service and value for money - see their web site (www.aroundaboutcars.com).

Only a 25 minute drive from the airport if you don’t get lost – which we did! Our room in the hotel had everything and the service and friendliness of the staff was much appreciated. The hotel itself and the décor is beautiful and breakfast was an absolute feast – no need for lunch. The hotel is very close to downtown, Table Mountain cable car and lots of restaurants - see separate restaurant reviews.

The only irritant was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, or an iron or ironing board, which seems to be an occasional peculiarity of South Africa. No problem in getting tea delivered to the room or items ironed for a small fee.

Two days was not enough in Cape Town and we will surely come back to Kensington Place when we return, which we are sure to do.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.