We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUITE SIMPLY 'THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN CAPE TOWN'!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Place to your Saves list
Kensington Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London & Cardiff
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“QUITE SIMPLY 'THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY IN CAPE TOWN'!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

Myself and my girlfriend (29 & 28) are on night 4 out of 6 here in Kensington Place. I CANNOT put into words how fantastic this place is. We arrived late afternoon on a Sunday and were greeted by Michael (wonderful smiling chap!) and the best complimentary champagne we've ever had (its local and they arent allowed to call it champagne but I promise you its better than anything that comes out of France!!). Our bags were whisked away and we sat in the bar (which, as the Tatler website states, is SEXY AS HELL!). Well, after the champagne we were asked whether we would like to go to the room but it was so nice siting there we decided to have another drink from the short but excellent cocktail menu. If you're from the UK then you're used to paying 8-14 pounds for a nice cocktail. Here they cost 30 rand which is just over 2 pounds...... oh dear! The best on the menu is the Gin smash (Gin, honey, lemon,fresh mint and brown sugar).

The rooms (ours was room 4) was stunning. Huge double balcony with views over the cape and Table Mt to our right. Beautifully decorated with heated floors throughout. In fact, the whole place is decorated beautifully.

I must go as another 2 Gin Smashes have just ben sent to the rom but before I do there is one thing that makes this place sooo amazing; THE STAFF!!!!!

Sasha, Ashley, Micheal and EVERYONE ELSE, thank you all so much. Each and every day you made us feel as if we we're the only people here. You are truly wonderful.

Well, off now to enjoy our remaining 2 days. TRUST ME ON THIS, YOU DONT WANT TO STAY ANYWHERE ELSE IN CAPE TOWN.

THIS IS THE ONLY 'PLACE' TO BE!!!! :)

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — HAVING TO LEAVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :(
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
160
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

We stayed at Kensington Place for three nights at the start of our honeymoon and cannot fault it. The beds were very comfy, great decor and we loved our terrace (where we had our breakfast every morning - highly recommend the muesli and eggs benedict!!). The staff were amazing and we felt that nothing was too much trouble for them. We would definitely stay there again if we get the chance

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

What a wonderful boutique hotel! Fantastic location w views from one's balcony down the canyon to Table Bay in one direction and to the cliffs of Table Mtn in the other. Extremely well-designed rooms, large, w big bathrooms (and tubs) w all the amenities, but what really distinguishes KP is the warmth and attentiveness of the staff. Breakfast is a delight. Can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

Although everyone recommends Cape Grace and Mount Nelson, I would never stay any place other than Kensington Place when in Cape Town. It's intimate, rooms are spacious and include every amenity you could want (internet, great beds, great shower, terrace with views of Table Mountain, Molton Brown products), and the staff are so helpful you don't need a guide book. It definitely has the boutique thing down.

  • Liked — look and feel of hotel; service
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

We spent four nights in Cape Town, just our last at Kensington Place. As fine as our other hotel was, we wish we had spent all four nights at kensington Place.

It is magnificent. The rooms are large, done with a bright comtemporary design. Each has a flat screen TV and a laptop computer for your use. If you have your own computer, there is free wireless networking available. The bathroom has a heated floor and rain forest shower.

But what makes it special is its staff. They could not be more helpful. I needed confirm some details related to my travel plans and print the results. They insisted that I use the office computer and stood aside until I finished.

They made a great dinner recommendation -- the Five Flies and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Breakfast was include and one of the best I had in 16 hotel nights in Africa.

The hotel is small and personal. You will love it there.

  • Liked — Large, clean modern room.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike even a little
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

We visited Kensington Place for 3 nights and we have never received such fantastic service by ALL the staff throughout our visit. We were welcomed by Sasha and she acted as a Tour Guide for our stay advising us all the best places to visit and the restaurants to eat and arranged everything for us.

This is a small boutique Hotel of 5 star+ luxury and we had a fantastic room ( Room 1 as featured in the Brochure) with views from our balcony of all of Cape Town and Table Mountain right in front of us. The back balcony had a view of Lion’s head. What more could we ask for!

The room itself and the bathroom was spacious and very tastefully appointed and even had a free Laptop and Internet service

We would highly recommend that anyone who stays in Cape Town stays at this Hotel

Incidentally because we went in the South African 'winter' all the Hotels we stayed at were virtually empty and at so the service we received throughout the Eastern Cape was out of this world

The weather was sunny (only 2 hours rain all holiday) and the excellent roads totally clear. We will be recommending South Africa to all our friends!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

Four nights at this boutique hotel was a pleasure. Modern contemporary feel in the city bowl garden suburbs.

Large clean room with large bathroom, molton and brown soaps and we had a gift of bath lotions and potions. Nice views over the city. Our room had a parking space adjacent with private access.

Excellent breakfasts at reasonable hours 8-11, fresh fruit, juices, yougurt cereals breads and rolls with full English if required.

Taxis are required to visit restaurants in the evening, if you are not driving, but all arrived punctually and were cheap.

No in house restaurant but all recommendations were excellent.

Swimming pool is unheated, as appears common in SA, so was a bit chilly in Autumn, set in a small pleasant courtyard garden.

  • Liked — Peaceful
  • Disliked — beyond safe walking distance to town
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Place

Address: 38 Kensington Crescent | Higgovale, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kensington Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Kensington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Kensington Place Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.