We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Tulbagh Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The New Tulbagh Hotel to your Saves list
The New Tulbagh Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Ryk Tulbagh Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This has been one of my best surprises in Cape Town. I needed a convenient place to stay on a business trip. I would recommend this hotel as the best value for money. The hotel must have been renovated recently. The breakfast was great. The reception staff needs some training but was very helpful. This is a reasonable 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the inner court. Traffic will hassle you otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you kindly.

Ewald Fendler
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
10
18
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chobe National Park, Botswana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My colleague and I stayed here while attending a conference at the convention centre. Very useful location as it is just a short walk from the convention centre. The reception was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Leisl is a star! They also arranged airport transfers at a very good rate. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms very large and a great shower! The rate for the rooms was very good - I'm not sure what the standard rooms are like but our room (one up from standard) was great and not much more in cost than the standard room.
Food was good and the breakfast great. Free WiFi would be great but could say the same for lots of places. Might not be the best location for your holiday, I'm not sure, but for us it was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room that was one up from the standard room. Still good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewald F, Manager at The New Tulbagh Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi,

Just to let you know our WiFi is now FREE and uncapped, thank you for your kind words.

Ewa;d Fendler
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This seems to be a hotel which was in business before and now started again after some incomplete renovation. The rooms are okay, rather large - at least the one we had - but the bathroom was quite smelly from the sinks, could not find out where it came from - shower or sink, so we put our towels over them and that fixed it until we took them off again. The location is quite central and the price was good - we now know why - so we thought we had a bargain in a city in which hotels are generally overpriced. The neighbourhood is not pleasant but that is downtown capetown in general. Breakfast was okay but the attitude of the staff lacks what one expects in 2012 for the price one pays. This also applies to the receptionist and the manager - we were promised free WLAN and although it was confirmed on our reservation mail which we showed with us both disputed what we had in writing. After a long debate we were eventually given vouchers which turned out to have expired so we didn't chase the issue again and went to an Internet Cafe. Definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Tulbagh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Tulbagh Hotel

Address: 9 Ryk Tulbagh Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Tulbagh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Cape Town, The New Tulbagh Hotel is within walking distance from the famous V&A Waterfront, City Centre and Cape Town International Convention Centre. The New Tulbagh Hotel offers stylish and modern accommodation; the finest amenities will ensure a comfortable stay. Free wireless connectivity throughout the hotel enables you to chat to loved ones via the internet. The New Tulbagh Hotel Restaurant offers fine dining with street cafe flair, as well as in-house dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The New Tulbagh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Tulbagh Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Tulbagh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.