We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in a Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Mansions

Save Saved
You added Winchester Mansions to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Winchester Mansions
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in a Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We are a family of five and I looked at so many hotels in Cape Town center and on the V&A waterfront that would work for us and not blow our budget. And then found the Winchester Mansion and we had a winner! Our family stayed in the Harvey Suite and it was the BEST room and so perfect for our stay. Two large bedrooms and bathrooms, a half bathroom and a small third bedroom along with a living room and dining area. It was by far the best value for a room and breakfast we have ever had in our travels. Impeccable service, fabulous breakfast, state of the art bathrooms, charming courtyard and breathtaking views out the suite windows overlooking the ocean. Out the front of the hotel is a park and walkway that runs for miles full of runners and walkers. The hotel has a complimentary van to take you to the V&A waterfront which is a short 5 minute drive away. The hotel also supplies airport transportation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Luv2snowski
i am delighted to have read your kind review, thank you! It is good to see that our value for money attitude is being recognised as are the efforts by the team to make your stay a comfortable one. We hope you will make the trip from Michigan again soon!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    139
    31
    10
    11
See reviews for
95
244
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at Winchester Mansions 27-28 June 2013 and before arrival expected old & gold which was certainly not the case. Although the building has lots of history, the decor is classic and the hotel is very well keeping up with the times. The rooms are very spacious and if staying at this hotel I will definitely recommend sea view as you have an amazing view over the Sea Point promenade. The breakfast was excellent and they have a great public area in the courtyard where you can have Sunday lunches with jazz. The bar is also open to the public so you have a nice vibe feeling throughout. I can recommend this to families, couples and business travellers. The hotel staffs were exceptionally friendly & well trained and you feel part of the family when you leave. Parking is R75 per day which is a normal rate for Cape Town. If you are a light sleeper be aware that there is a level of noise levels in the rooms early at night and early in the morning as I could hear that the hotel staff was busy setting up for meals in the public areas. You can also hear when staff / people are walking / talking outside your room. The hotel has a heated swimming pool which I think is a bonus for Cape Town. In summery I think it’s a great option in terms of location as you are within walking distance to many shops and restaurants and you have the Sea Point promenade in front of you. The hotel certainly exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Defiantely rather pay extra and take seafacing room as add to the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Trudie J
Thank you for your detailed review, this makes it easy for readers to follow and make yup their mind, great. We have spoken to our staff to be more mindful of noise especial late and very early in the day. I hope we may welcome you back soon to Winchester Mansions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in Sep 2012, we spent 5 wonderful nights there. The hotel staff are all friendly and we ate a couple of times in the restaurant and bar and the food was excellent, we will be returning next year to the hotel. Our flight arrived very early in the morning and we were given a room on arrival which was great as it meant we could shower and start our sightseeing that morning. The rooms were always cleaned well, and the hotel is in a good location opposite the sea and near the V&A.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Scoobydoo38
thank you for reviewing us, we look forward to having you back this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We absolutely loved staying at the Winchester Mansions. We started off with their famous Sunday Jazz brunch and followed that with a night in one of their divine family suites. Perfectly suited to us a family of 3. The food was delicious, the bar was vibrant. The staff were outstanding. The little touches made all the difference, treats for our son including a special turn down gift and the little putt putt on each floor. We cannot wait to go back in Summer.

Room Tip: Sea view suite was directly above the bar so maybe a little noisy for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear fumpo
thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to hear you liked Winchester Mansions. why wait 'til summer, come back sooner, the skies are blue and the sun is out right now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Winchester Mansions to begin our trip to southern Africa. This hotel was perfect. Our room was lovely -- the sitting room had an Atlantic Ocean view -- beautiful! The location is great -- walking distance to the Waterfront, red/blue tour bus stop right across the street. I especially want to compliment the staff; they were helpful in every instance, providing maps, shuttle service, restaurant suggestions. We would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear P3W
thank you for reviewing us. It is heartening to see that our efforts are being recognised. Please tell many more people in Texas about us and come back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful setting - opposite a 5km promonade , good exercise spot with facilities.
Grapes, Gallery and Gourmet on Wednesday nights; beautifully presented dishes (5 courses) paired with local wines. Winemaker in attendance makes for an interesting evening but the Chef wont part with any recipes! Big YUUUMMM evening.
Comfortable conference facilities.
A definite favourite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear PamelaArc01
I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the GGG, our monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings. In fact in August we are running a HGG, a Hops, Gourmet and Gallery where we match beers with Jochen Riedel's food creations. Please come back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in Sea Point, with free shuttles to/from the Waterfront which is very useful. The hotel itself is excellent, great customer service and rooms are spacious and comfy. I highly recommend the Jazz Lunch - which is every Sunday. Double check that you have a booking, as we had but the hotel had no mention of our reservation, however they did manage to find us a table. The breakfast is excellent and the bar has character with Sports available on the wide-screens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear William S

thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities such as the shuttle and our bar. Until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Mansions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.