We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Mansions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Winchester Mansions to your Saves list
Winchester Mansions
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great position, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed for six nights and really loved the hotel. As others have said, the position is great - on the 'prom' and within easy reach of the City, as well as Camps Bay and other areas. We had considered staying on the V&A Waterfront, and were so glad we didn't. It was crowded, touristy, and a little fake. By contrast the Winchester felt 'real', comfortable and a home-from-home. The rooms are a little old-fashioned, but that all adds to the charm of the place. We were there over New Years Eve where they put on a wonderfull dinner/ball with just the right balance of everything.

Service was brilliant (even though it was the busiest time), and the front desk staff in particular were great at sorting out any issues which arose.

The only draw-back is that the pool/pool area is a little small, and sun beds can be quickly snapped up in the busy periods.

I would not hestitate to recommend (or return if possible!) this lovely hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear harbottle

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I too believe that our location is very special as we are very close to everywhere without being in the middle of it all. The pool area usually is quite sufficient but as you said during these busy two weeks where many of our guests just want to tank a bit of sun it tends to be a bit crowded, even though I think we managed the legendary “lounger wars” quite well, and being German I am allowed to say this! ;-) I hope we’ll have you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    155
    38
    10
    12
See reviews for
102
273
35
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

For around $200/night, we found this hotel to be as beautiful, with as great a location as a much more expensive hotel. It is right on the ocean, the flower filled inner courtyard is a great place for breakfast, the rooms are beautiful, spacious, and unique, and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear buppiti

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The value for money aspect you highlight is close to my heart as I want our guests to feel exactly like that. During my recent sales trip to the US I tried very hard to convince potential guests that at our level one can get a good package of service and class. I hope you can tell more people about your experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to Winchester Mansions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Booked this hotel off the web after reading the reviews here. Needed somewhere relaxing, with good food and within striking distance of everything we needed to do. Booked a balcony room overlooking the sea for a stay taking in Christmas and New Year.
On arrival, the room was double booked but Mandia (deputy GM) was on hand to ease our passage with an upgrade to the 'Robben Island Suite' at no charge, so we were not disappointed. The rooms overlooked the sea and the promenade and I would certainly recommend you pay the few pounds extra for that view - especially the evening when the sun is setting.
The hotel is built around what looks like a tuscon courtyard, which is beautiful and a wonderful place to start your day with breakfast. This area is very very reminiscent of the Raffles Hotel in Singapore, although on a smaller scale. The hotel restaurant 'Harveys' is great. The food is very good, the service is superb and attentive led by by Dominic and his team. There is a sufficient choice of wines. The tables overlook the road and out towards the sea and the promenade, giving an intimate air but able to see the views. The bar, opposite the restaurant, is a little different. It is very very popular with the locals and locally based tourists, especially at lunchtime and in the early evenings. Therefore it can become quite crowded and the service can be slow. However, it is obviously one of the ways that this hotel makes additional revenue so it won't change - you just have to live with it. The ambience out on the small balcony, especially for sundowners is superb, and even if there isn't a table, wait a while the throughput means there are always people coming and going, so you will get one after a while. Great place to sit with a long G&T and 'watch the world go by'!
The hotel runs free shuttles to wherever in Cape Town. Be aware that they have only two vehicles and two drivers on shift, so you will have to plan ahead, or just walk! You are about 30-40 mins stroll away from the V&A waterfront. The hotel can book excursions for you, and the front desk staff of Jason, Craig and Fabienne are polite, efficient, helpful and more importantly appear genuinely friendly and care about you and your stay! Well done guys. However, when we booked a picnic lunch for a walk over to Cape of Good Hope it wasn't prepared. So when I approached the morning chef 'Jade Young' and asked why, his reply of "it's one of those things" shows that perhaps everything in the hotel is not a 'joined up' as you may think. That said, this was the one incident which really gripped us and hopefully he is not allowed to interact with the customers again. There was a bottle of wine and chocolates in our room on our return - it would appear that the rest of the staff cared.
And that is really what this hotel is about; yes it's a great building, in a great location with great food and rooms, but without the staff who make it appear like a friendly guest house, as opposed to the largish hotel it is, it would be nothing. Thoroughly recommend a stay, long or short stop, we will return!

Room Tip: Make sure you overlook the promenade and the sea - other rooms don't look onto much else other t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Vancouver BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed six nights at the Winchester Mansion and found the location to ideal. Close enough walk to V & A waterfront (they also have a regular shuttle); near some pretty fantastic restaurants (La Perla to name one) which are also within walking distance,; and close enough to be able to hike up Signal Hill and Lion's Head. Straight across a relatively quiet (traffic-wise) boulevard from the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean. Although we did have a car (highly recommended) to access Table Mountain and other more distant sights such as Camps Bay, Hout Bay and Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, it wasn't necessary as the "Big Bus" tourist bus stops right in front of the hotel and provides access to most tourist sights.

Our room was fantastic; an older more victorian feel, with a sitting room, sun room (dining room/second single bedroom), large master bedroom and huge bathroom. we looked over the front of the hotel so could see both sunrise and sunset from our front windows. The hotel also has a pretty funky bar which seems to be very popular with tourist and locals alkie as it opens up onto views of the sunset.

Highly recommend this site and would, without a doubt, stay here next time we are in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel, so you can see sunrise and sunset from room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear madelineped

I just read your review and thank you for taking the time to do that. It is great to see again and again that our location is being appreciated. The City Sightseeing bus across the road picking guests up and dropping them off after the best way to see the city is a great plus for us. It sounds like you really made the most of your stay with walks and hikes etc, Cape Town is a great city offering all of these. I hope we’ll be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from sunny Cape Tow

Nils Heckscher - MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The four of us enjoyed a three-day return stay at the Mansions in mid-December and have absolutely no complaints what so ever. The rooms were just as comfortable and tastefully, yet sensibly furnished as the last time (2008) - they showed no signs of neglect (which, sadly, you do sometimes see upon revisiting a place) and were kept suitably pristine by the exceedingly (and unpretentiously) friendly staff, whose colleagues in the hotel restaurant and reception shared their attitude towards the guests. Breakfast (from a very well-stocked buffet that also offers made-to-order eggs, tomatoes etc.) in the peaceful courtyard could be said to be reason enough for staying at the Mansions. We only dined in the restaurant on the last night, but we nevertheless recommend it to both guests and diners-only alike - the menu is diverse and not all that heavy on your wallet and our meal was served by a most attentive staff (even though we were seated outside, on the sea-facing patio).

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 19 (on the 2nd floor) face inland, but are reasonably quiet, well-lit and (presumably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear JFHammeken

Thank you for the review. I am delighted to hear that our annual and in between maintenance work is bearing fruit and is being recognised. I personally am very conscious of the ongoing need to maintain our facilities. I agree that unfortunately some colleagues seem to not feel the same way. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Winchester Mansions again real soon!

Greetings from sunny Cape Town

Nils Heckscher - MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at WM - the staff were super helpful with all our questions as well as my dietary requests. The hotel is personal without feeling crowded and small, and the location is fantastic. They had an excellent breakfast, in a really lovely courtyard. We enjoyed it thoroughly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Swedeninternational

Thank you for your lovely review. Please come back real soon!

Nils Heckscher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Hotel: nice atmosphere, beautiful courtyard
Room: modern junior suite on the 3rd floor, spacious and nicely furnished but quite dark as there was only one tiny window (so "sea-facing" doesn't equal a great view..)
Restaurant: not the best restaurant in town, but definately good food for good value; breakfast / brunch was very good
Service: ok, very friendly
Location: Good; it's very easy to get around by car / taxi / hotel shuttle.
Overall: recommendable, will stay there again next time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor seem to have bigger windows than the rooms on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilsHeckscher, General Manager at Winchester Mansions, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Babalu33

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you found the room a bit dark, I think it may be the one with the palm tree in front. Hearing that you will be back we make sure you get another one next time, pleas mention such. Until we may welcome you back to Winchester Mansions.

Kind regards from sunny Cape Town

Nils Heckscher - MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Mansions

Address: 221 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester Mansions is an iconic building on the seafront in Cape Town within close proximity to the V&A Waterfront and Cape Town International Airport. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront, free wifi internet access in public areas are standard. This landmark hotel offers classic elegant rooms, many boasting stunning sea views. Facilities include a heated pool, relaxing treatments in the Ginkgo Spa, signature dishes from award winning Harveys Restaurant & Bar as well as full service conferencing. Cape Town's most famous and longest running Jazz brunch is hosted at Winchester Mansions every Sunday of the year. The monthly Grapes, Gourmet and Gallery evenings draw large numbers of food & wine lovers and art aficionados. Winchester Mansions - Part of the Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Winchester Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winchester Mansions Hotel Cape Town Central
Winchester Mansions Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Mansions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.