We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a few hours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Two Oceans Aquarium

Two Oceans Aquarium
Alfred Basin, Dock Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
27-21-418-3823
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Two Oceans Aquarium is a window into the spectacular oceans surrounding the southern African coast. Through displays ranging from the small and almost fantastical Knysna seahorses, to large ragged-tooth sharks, the Aquarium holds wondrous discoveries around every corner. Be mesmerised by the swaying of the giant kelp in the aptly named Ocean Basket Kelp Forest Exhibit- one of only a handful living kelp forest displays in the world. Or come face-to-face with giant spider grabs and have an adventurous tactile experience at the Touch Pool. Be sure to visit the I&J Predator Exhibit, with its 11m long window, to view large ragged tooth sharks and shoals of silvery fish. Qualified divers can also make use of the opportunity to dive with the sharks in the I&J Predator Exhibit and the shimmering fish in the Ocean Basket Kelp Forest Exhibit.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worth a few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed our visit to the aquarium. The fish are really interesting to look at but I don't think I'd go again. Definitely worth one visit but couldn't imagine that I would want to buy a yearly pass

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    612
    200
    21
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience for Kids and Adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am not usually a fan of caged environments but I believe its important to nurture a love of all things wild and wonderful about our natural habitats... Two Oceans does a fantastic job of engaging with the youth, educating and inspiring them...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoOceansAQ, Communications at Two Oceans Aquarium, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Two Oceans Aquarium. We have an excellent educational programme and the Environmental Education Centre staff and teachers work very hard to teach about the importance of our marine heritage. It is very important for us that future generations realise how important their role is in the conservation and preservation of of ocean. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Entertaining marine experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I enjoyed the Two Oceans Aquarium quite a lot, but one leaves afterwards with a feeling that the entrance might be a bit steep for the experience, especially when compared to the world-class facility such as uShaka Marine World in Durban, Kwa-Zulu Natal, South Africa.

There are nice and educational activities for children, keeping them busy and entertained for hours.

Not bad at all, but could offer a bit more.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Plenty to see and if you have kids they will be entertained. Food and drink is available inside as well as the usual gift shop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting place to visit. It was good yesterday spending time with kids learning about marine life. I liked the lab/ microscope viewing, penguin, and frog areas!

This is a must visit!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Oceans Aquarium also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Two Oceans Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Oceans Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.