We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Oceans Aquarium

Two Oceans Aquarium
Alfred Basin, Dock Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
27-21-418-3823
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Two Oceans Aquarium is a window into the spectacular oceans surrounding the southern African coast. Through displays ranging from the small and almost fantastical Knysna seahorses, to large ragged-tooth sharks, the Aquarium holds wondrous discoveries around every corner. Be mesmerised by the swaying of the giant kelp in the aptly named Ocean Basket Kelp Forest Exhibit- one of only a handful living kelp forest displays in the world. Or come face-to-face with giant spider grabs and have an adventurous tactile experience at the Touch Pool. Be sure to visit the I&J Predator Exhibit, with its 11m long window, to view large ragged tooth sharks and shoals of silvery fish. Qualified divers can also make use of the opportunity to dive with the sharks in the I&J Predator Exhibit and the shimmering fish in the Ocean Basket Kelp Forest Exhibit.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“so much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

looking out for special stops in cape town for my guests, i do recommend to see the 2 ocean aquarium on windy days.
it is greatly done with a vast number of species - so the number of aquariums, floors, paths and little gorges is high, there is a kids corner, a possibility to sign up to feed the fat sharks (you dive in the big aquarium, yes you are inside!), benches to rest , on the upper floor an area featuring nature with stranded penguins birds, fish, and so on... there is an outside pool for the seals :-) the curio shop is fine but extremely expensive, well the cafe, if you are not too thirsty , choose another spot...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    524
    170
    20
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lustleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This aquarium is modern and well appointed, with lots of great exhibits, including both the big ticket items like the predator tank, and and the more understated displays of smaller sea creatures.

It's not the biggest of aquariums so only an hour or two to go round, and but we'll worth it, and especially if you are already in the V&A area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visited the aquarium with my wife on the 3rd of January this year and we both thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

The aquarium itself is decently sized, has basic on site catering/toilet facilities and caters well for both child & disabled visitors.

For an extra fee you can arrange to swim with the sharks and take very up close and personal photos, also you can spend time with the hopper penguins and their keeper in a very personal encounter and get to participate in the feeding session.

Part of our group did the shark experience and my wife and I did the penguin encounter, both are highly recommended by us!

Overall, in terms of value for money you can’t really go wrong with the two oceans aquarium.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Only if you're in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Possibly since it features in many top things to do in Cape Town lists, alongside cable car to Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens and other unique experiences, that I was I found myself disappointed with the aquarium. The kelp forest was fascinating, but otherwise it was quite unremarkable. I found the food market next door much more entertaining. I'd only recommend visiting if you're at the waterfront on a rainy day with little else to do.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“nice aquarium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This aquarium isn't huge but it is nicely done. Worth a visit if you are traveling with kids and need a good afternoon activity. Nice for adults too

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Oceans Aquarium also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Two Oceans Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Oceans Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.