We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Avoid - Staff Rude and Everything is a Hassle” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Village to your Saves list
Waterfront Village
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mind Pearl House, West Quay Rd | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just Avoid - Staff Rude and Everything is a Hassle”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Whilst the apartment are really beautiful and the location is great, what really lets these apartments down is the staff and the management.

I regularly travel to CT for business and assumed this would be a great home away from home but sadly the staff were really quite rude and the management has no clue what is going on.

You also have to pay extra for everything, it was a national holiday one day and they requested an extra R200 to clean that day. You also have to pay for internet and use of the gym.

My advice - Just avoid, CT is full of great places to stay - who needs this sort of hassle!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    90
    34
    20
    19
See reviews for
123
103
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Penrith apartment early November. The apartment was very nice with good views of the Marina unfortunately our whole holiday was ruined as we had cash stolen from the apartment safe. This is obviously an inside job and the management must know about it, but Don't seem to do anything to stop it. We had £100 and some Rand taken. The safe was locked at all times and the key in my handbag so someone has a duplicate key. We wasted a whole morning speaking to the security people and then making a statement at ten police station. The office manager told us this had never occurred before and then later my son looked on Tripadvisor and discovered this is a regular problem at the Village and Life Apartments. That make a great show of security on the gate etc and there is a thief within their staff!!!!! After a lot of hassle they did reimburse us with £100. A great shame as it is a lovely place and well situated but I would not return. If you stay here DO NOT LEAVE ANY VALUBLES IN THE SAFE.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed recently in the Penthouse of Altmore . We were part of a party . Although the apartment has beautiful proportions and views the furnishings and fittings need attention . The bathrooms although look great do not function well , Ours leaked. We also had a major problem with the air con . The kitchen was very sparsely kitted out . This was the most expensive accommodation in our 3 week holiday and frankly the worst .

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The apartment was very nice and very handy to get to the V & A Waterfront. The supermarket was a short walk away. The apartment was well equipped but problem with tv and satellite. The tv n bedroom was linked to the one in the lounge and if you used the wrong control then you lost the lot. The WiFi was charged for the amount used which in this day and age you would think it would be free. The housekeeping was very good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We perhaps made the mistake of coming to this apartment after spending a night at the Taj Hotel in Cape Town so to be honest we were a bit disappointed when we saw it. However, unlike some other reviewers we didn't have to spend too long going through the check in, possibly because it wasn't very busy at the time of our arrival. We could see the importance of security there, so didn't mind spending a bit of time on it anyway. The apartments are billed as 'luxury' but this was a bit inaccurate and although very clean and reasonably comfortable it wasn't what I would call luxury (particularly compared to the Taj!). The bed was a normal double and the bath only 3/4 size. However the kitchen was well appointed and there was plenty of room for a 5 night stay. Nice view over the canal too. It was useful having a washing machine and dryer, although there seemed to be a problem with the washing machine door and it had to be held in place with tape! Within walking distance of the Waterfront, although it did take about 15 minutes each way. The apartment just seemed a bit 'tired' and in need of some refurbishment, particularly the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is amazing.you can spend hours there,there is a lot to see.great restaurants,really magnificent area.
Shops are great ,please take few hours to spend there.the food market is really good to eat at lunch.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I stayed in this apartment for 4 days and paid a bill over the password protected wifi. The next day my card information was stolen and used in several stores around the waterfront. I was left without a credit card for the rest of the trip. The apartment is nice, but the WIFI package is limited and you have to pay for additional data. They don't have international plug adapters. Other than that, it was a nice location and beautiful apartment.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House, West Quay Rd | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterfront Village 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water's edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests luxury serviced apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.