We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Village to your Saves list
Waterfront Village
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mind Pearl House, West Quay Rd | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Luxurious and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Waterfront Village for seven days. We got a fantastic last-minute deal and we were delighted with our stay. We found the accommodation very spacious (2 en-suit bathrooms, separate toilet), the kitchen with every mod con (dishwasher, washing machine, clothes dryer, microwave, oven, hob etc), and the whole apartment decorated to a very high standard and seemed very brand new. The apartment also had the benefits of being luxuriously self-catering while also being serviced daily. The huge choice of restaurants within easy walking distance also gave us the flexibility of choosing to eat out or having a cosy night in. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and often booked taxi's and tours for us.

The V&A Waterfront and the accommodation complex felt very safe. Entry to the accommodation was very secure. There was also a safe in the room. The apartment was also just next door to the exclusive and expensive One-and-Only Hotel, and we had similar views to many of those rooms, which would have cost a great deal more!

Overall, we felt very much at home, comfortable in a well-equipped and beautifully decorated apartment, delighted with the space, convenience to the V&A, and grateful to the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Journeyer9

Thank you for taking the time in giving feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our facilities and that the staff made you feel at home. With over 80 apartments, we do try to cater to every individual's taste and needs in an apartment, and there are different views to choose from.

We do hope to welcome you back to our establishment in the future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    101
    37
    25
    22
See reviews for
131
123
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the waterfront village for 6 nights in what they call a luxury 2 bedroom apartment on a self catering basis. The location of the apartment was perfect. We could walk to all of the restaurants on the waterfront, and still drive around the area easily from this location. The actual apartment was perfect for our needs, however, there were several small things wrong with it that should have been taken care of in a luxury hotel. The master bathroom light would not stay on, and flickered constantly; there was only soap in one of the bathrooms; there were several issues with mildew, and general maintenance of the bathrooms. The WIFI was NON-EXISTENT. It only worked for one day while we were in the hotel. We even tried using the computers at the front desk, however, they weren't working either and nobody at the desk had any idea what the issue was or if it was being worked on. I expect more for the cost of this place.

Room Tip: We were in one of the middle buildings, so we didn't actually have a view of anything other than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great accommodation in a perfect location. Spacious 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom modern apartment with mountain and harbour views. Accommodation was spacious, clean, well appointed, secure and well managed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. With our selection of apartments we manage in the V&A Waterfront, we are always trying to meet every individual's requirements.
We do hope to welcome you back to our establishment in the near future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment at the Waterfront Village (Hellensee 702). It was, by far, the best rooms we've had in Cape Town, with absolutely no complaints. The decor and furnishings were excellent and the flat had everything one could envisage needing - even if we had been staying for a month. What was particularly impressive was the speed of reaction to any problems. For instance, on the first morning it appeared that the drain in the main en suite shower was blocked, so we had to use the shower in the bath. By our return to the flat later that morning, it had all been cleared out and fixed. Oh were UK plumbers that fast!
The main other attraction of these apartments is, of course, their location. We were in a block that was virtually the furthest from the V&A Waterfront, but still didn't find the walk too taxing. However, we declined the suggested breakfast at the 'One & Only'. It would have undoubtedly been a good experience, but at R119, it was knocked out of court by the R32 at the Aquarium restaurant.
In all, a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for review of the Waterfront Village. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will convey your compliments of Hellenslee 702 to the owners.

We do hope to welcome you back for a future visit.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Located right on the waterfront. We had a unit on the ground floor and were impressed with the location. The place was very secure. The kitchen had all the appliances necessary to cook your own meals as well as having a washing machine and dryer.
The office is located a little distance away and was hard to find but their service was great.
We used this hotel for two nights prior to starting out tour as it was a lot less expensive then the hotel suggested by the tour company

Room Tip: Room facing the canal is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Waterfront Village is well located in a private, secure marina complex adjacent to the V&A Waterfront. The one bedroom apartment I stayed in was well appointed and furnished although there were some maintenance issues. The dishwasher did not work, the drain from the shower quickly backed up and one of the balcony doors leaked during a particularly heavy rain rainstorm. However, the level of service was good and they were very accommodating about extending a late checkout when my flight home was delayed. I intend to stay there again on forthcoming business trips and will be interested to see if there are any further maintenance issues. Until then I have given it an average rating. If you want greater luxury you should consider the Lawhill apartments in an adjacent development. Although significantly more expensive these apartments are larger as well as better equipped and maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The two bed apartment that my wife, daughter and I stayed in, really was very good. It was in the Paramo building on the 2nd floor. It was a 2 bed , 2 en-suite place with a well equipped kitchen ( not that we used it) with a washing machine and tumble drier ( that we definitely used).

The apartment was very well equipped, clean and very comfortable. It was also very quiet - we didn't hear a peep from any of the surrounding apartments. We only had the odd gripe about it - one of the bedroom doors was loose on it's hinges when we arrived ( but was fixed quickly) and the telephone only worked intermittently.- we did report this but it still had a problem with it. When trying to call the apartment from outside ( on its own number ) the phone didn't work at all. We could phone reception sometimes on it. The safe in the room was also locked when we arrived - again we asked for it to be unlocked, but this didn't happen by the time we'd left

I must re-iterate that these were only very small gripes and all in all, the apartment was very good. The staff at reception were also very good. They arranged trips out for us, booked taxis as required, and looked after our bags after we'd checked out but before we went to the airport.

The apartment was in an excellent location, next to the Cape Grace Hotel, overlooking the marina, with a view of Table Mountain behind. It was literally a 2 minute level walk past the Cape Grace hotel , over the footbridge, to the shops / restaurants at the V&A Waterfront. There were security guards everywhere and we never felt threatened walking back from the V&A later in the evening. Even though this was the low season there were plenty of people around. Checking in was a but of a faff as we had to be issued with security passes that you swipe to gain access to the site and the apartment building.

If we went back to Cape Town we would definitely stay at this place again, as the apartment was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontVillage, Manager at Waterfront Village, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Dynamodoris

thank you for your detailed description of your stay wit us. We are pleased to see that you found our apartments to suit your needs. We are also pleased to see that our staff assisted with arranging your excursions and that you enjoyed your vacation whilst staying with us.

I have taken note of your comments on the maintenance snags and will see to it that our Property Manager tends to them.

We do hope to be your host again in the near future.

Kind regards
Johadrie de Villiers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Village

Address: Mind Pearl House, West Quay Rd | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterfront Village 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Village, situated on the water's edge in the picturesque V&A Waterfront Marina, next to the Cape Grace Hotel and One&Only, offers guests luxury serviced apartments offering superior services and facilities. Guests are spoilt for choice with our selection of one to three bedroom apartments, providing a wide selection of accommodation that will suit their individual requirements. Guests will enjoy access to our on-site reception, swimming pools and gym. An abundance of shops and restaurants are available within walking distance. Crafted around tranquil waterways the inspired architecture maximises the panoramic views, creating international desirability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Waterfront Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Village Hotel Cape Town Central
Waterfront Village Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.