We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical very good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun The Cullinan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun The Cullinan to your Saves list
Southern Sun The Cullinan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #37 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Typical very good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a well-run and very good hotel. We stayed there for one night only, mainly because the location was perfect for our requirements. All the staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable and had everything that we needed. The buffet dinner was very good, although we probably would have done better by rather going for the a la carte menu in the pub area. Breakfast was on par with the best hotel breakfasts that we've ever had.

The only negative aspect was the noise from the passage when some guests returned to the hotel in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible from the lift area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted that our team took such good care of you and do hope that you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Cape Town.
We ppreciate your comments in terms of the noise and will try and find a way to prevent this in the future.
Kind Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    280
    54
    19
    17
See reviews for
101
218
25
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Terrific decor, comfortable room, helpful staff and great overall service in central CBD location convenient to all city business and touristic activities. My stay was personal tourism but I would certainly use this hotel for a business visit given convenient city centre location. Good gym, awesome breakfast and nice bar and small but attractive pool area. We looked at the Mount Nelson Hotel is highly rated but by comparison Nelson is more remote, isolated and walled off like a concentration camp in a more scary area unlike the more free feeling Southern Sun which is not walled off like camp and the Southern Sun location seems safer and more inviting.

Room Tip: Mountain views are available on request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out to leave your comments and reviews for us. The team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
Kind Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wow - what can I say - only that I can highly recommend this Hotel. The service was excellent, the friendlyness of staff - superb and everyone was so polite and helpfull - certainly a place I will go back to, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: It's up to the traveller - either a mountain view or a Waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted that our team took such good care of you and do hope that you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Cape Town.
Kind Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cullinan for four nights as part of a Vantage Travel Group experience. The only reason we cannot rate the hotel as excellent is that it still permits smoking within its four walls -- on the 7th floor. We had to be moved from the 6th floor on the first night because smoke was filtering down through the bathroom vents from above. Furthermore, the outside smoking area is situated by the front entrance, rather than being off to one side. We're told management is working on making the hotel "smoke-free" in the near future. Good for them!

That aspect not withstanding, we found the staff to be extremely cordial, accommodating and helpful in every way. If you need something, talk to Ibraheim (sp?) and Chad at the Concierge desk and they'll manage it for you...or as they say, "done and dusted". Front desk manager Michelle was extremely helpful and professional in assisting us and we greatly appreciated the afternoon beverage and snack found at the table to the left of the front desk. The hotel provides a shuttle to the Waterfront mall that is very convenient. The mall has a number of fine restaurants for lunch and/or dinner.

Since we were there in June (their winter), we did not avail ourselves of the hotel's outside pool, but it looked very inviting. Our room (the second one, that is) was extremely comfortable, up-to-date and met all our needs. The bathroom was very well appointed and the shower quite powerful. We had breakfast daily in the hotel restaurant and were very impressed with the variety and selection. We learned one of the chefs had honed his skills while employed by Royal Caribbean Cruise line for several years (our preferred line). We also had two dinners in the hotel restaurant and, again, were impressed by the quality and presentation of the dinners. Did not use the fitness center, but, again, it appeared to be in good shape (no joke intended). Overall, the hotel is very clean, modern and security is very evident, if you are concerned.

The hotel also is walking distance to Long Street, where you'll find a number of eclectic shops and restaurants, as well as a few beggars (just ignore them, as the street signs recommend). We walked up to Mabu Records, who helped bring the singer Rodriguez from Detroit back into the limelight again. (See "Searching for Sugar Man," the 2013 Academy Awards.)

If weather permits, be sure to take the funicular up to Table Mountain and enjoy the incredible views from the top! Being a coastal town, Cape Town experiences frequent weather changes and quite often Table Mountain is off limits due to the fog and/or cloud cover. We had marble-sized hail one afternoon, the first such occurrence is some 30 years we were told.

About an hour away by car is the Cape of Good Hope, which should not be missed. The coastal drive down is breathtaking and, at times, a bit scary as you skirt the cliffs. I'm sure that the hotel would arrange a driver or recommend an agency to take you there and back. An easy day trip, with time for lunch.

Room Tip: If smoking is still permitted inside, do not accept a room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your kind words are humbling!
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Convenient location with a good shuttle bus service to the Waterfront. However, the dry cleaning service ruined two items I sent out and the food (ala carte) needs much improvement - besides the breakfast buffet.

Would not be in a hurry to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As you can see from all the other very positive comments on this site, your experience was a once off.
We strive towards delivering a world class experience and our guest’s satisfaction is at the centre of our world.
Sincere apologies for your bad experience, I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future in order for us to redeem ourselves and change your perception.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We tossed up between a number of Hotels for our first trip to Cape Town and fortunately made a great choice in choosing the Cullinan. It has to be the most friendly Hotel I have ever visited, the staff are absolutely amazing. From the guys on the front doors, to the waiting staff and bar staff, everyone goes out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are comfortable and even have windows that can be opened for some fresh air. The food is great, especially good breakfast buffet. The shuttle to the waterfront is very convenient and the hotel is only a stones throw from Long Street and other downtown attractions.
Thankyou to the team at The Cullinan for making our trip to Cape Town so enjoyable.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view of the waterfront area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your kind words are humbling!
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Cullinan twice this year for business purposes as part of a Jhb legal team. The service has always been good but this standard of service has been improved to an even higher level than that experienced just 3 months ago. I was made to feel like a VIP whenever I entered the lobby and was always greeted with friendly, interested and genuine smiles from all staff. An experienced travel agent agrees with me that the service levels at The Cullinan are the best in Cape Town, surpassing many establishments with a higher grading.
The highlight of any stay is the superb breakfast and wonderful choice available: vegetarian, lactose- and gluten -free choices are readily available and allefficiently served.
The location is also very convenient with an easy-access pedestrian bridge linking the hotel with the Waterfront.
Looking forward to our next stay here in just under one week!

Room Tip: A Waterfront facing room is nice but early morning traffic might be noisy if you sleep with your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your kind words are humbling!
We strive to make all our guests feel like VIP’s and I can assure you that your feedback has been shared with the team!
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun The Cullinan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.