We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun The Cullinan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun The Cullinan to your Saves list
Southern Sun The Cullinan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sunbreaks Summer Campaign
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family was visiting from the States and we had the very good fortune of staying at The Cullinan. We found the accommodations to be excellent and the staff to be so warm and welcoming that we soon felt like old friends. The hotel is extremely well located with easy access (walking distance) to the Convention Center and City Sightseeing Tours, as well as Long Street. The Cullinan also offers half hourly, complimentary shuttle service to and from the V&A waterfront. The food was fabulous with a great selection. And, the concierge was quickly able to offer some great alternatives when our plan for the day fell apart. We HIGHLY recommend The Cullinan to anyone looking to be pampered and treated like a treasured friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you ever so much for your kind comments and feedback. I am delighted that you had such a great stay and that our team took good care of you.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and do hope that I will have the opportunity to meet you personally.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    301
    58
    22
    18
See reviews for
107
222
28
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a bad experience previously and thought it wise to give it another chance.Pleasantly surprised at many a changes made by new manager. The restuarant is tops with xcellent service and staff.Cleaning staff just as friendly. . My compliments to the new manager !We will be back at this lovely hotel.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am humbled by your kind comments, and indeed we have been working extremely hard over the past 3 months to improve our delivery and our guest experience.
It is however, thanks to a phenomenal team here at Southern Sun The Cullinan that we have made some very positive changes.
Please do say hello upon your next visit, it would be great to meet you personally.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I visited here in mid January 2013 for three nights on business. This hotel was great, has everything you need. Rooms were nice and spacious, breakfast buffet was amazing, staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and service great. This hotel is a 10 minute walk (safe during daylight hours) from the V&A Waterfront, and there is an hourly shuttle bus that you can catch too. This hotel doesn't have a spa, but I went to the sister one just literally next door which does. Parking was free and easy in the basement parking. I had low expectations of internet speed having read other reviews, but apparently it's been upgraded recently and I had no problems, it was a comparable speed to many hotels I been in worldwide and better than many. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted that you had such a good time at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We have been working hard to consistently deliver a world class experience and I am glad that you were able to see it in action.
Please do say hello upon your next visit, it would be great to meet you in person.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful both inside and out and we were in awe when we first arrived here. First impressions were very good. However, they did not take long to fade! When we checked in, our receptionist told us the hotel would be taking R350 per day off our credit card as a security deposit!? Then another R100 deposit when we asked for an adaptor! We were not impressed, to have already paid nearly €200 per night for this hotel, the additional charges, which came out of my credit card, seemed totally unreasonable.

The wifi in this hotel is barely usable, you have to pay by the minute and when you do, the connection keeps dropping!

When we got to our room, we checked out all the cupboards etc and found groceries which must have been weeks old in the bottom drawer of our dresser. A loaf of bread which was moulding was included!! I spoke to a member of housekeeping outside our room and just got a shocked look!

Don't get me wrong, this hotel is very nice, not to mention the breakfast buffet laid out every morning which is amazing! The free shuttle bus to the V&A is also great for guests and the pool area is very nice.

However, as this was our final hotel on our 3 week tour of SA, we were not entirely impressed and expected a lot more from a 4 star hotel. We probably would not stay here again as a result.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
From the onset I would like to sincerely apologise for your poor experience at our hotel. I am disappointed that you did get to experience the great service that so many of the other reviewers on this site has.
I can assure you that this is a once off incident; I have already discussed the room matters with our Housekeeper personally.
Please allow us a second chance to redeem ourselves upon your next visit to Cape Town.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Cullinan is a fabulous spot where the service is always, professional & polite. I frequent this hotel for business trips but it is also Perfectly situated for access to the v&a waterfront & the conference centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am pleased that you find our hotel to your liking and that the team consistently delivers to your needs. We pride ourselves in our staff and I will be sure to share your feedback with them.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights just after arrival in Cape Town. We’ve been to RSA several times already but never stayed at this hotel before – but we’ve become more adventurous regarding hotels as prices for accommodation keep going up steadily over the years…
It was certainly not a mistake to choose this hotel: The building is quite nice, just like the lobby area. The pool area was our favourite part of the hotel as it is very inviting for either swimming (not necessarily for sunbathing) or lounging at any time of the day – the ancient-looking pillars create a nice ambience for grabbing a few drinks by the pool.
Our room was nothing really extraordinary – no positive surprises at all but nothing essential missing, either. Breakfast can be considered as good even if it lacks a bit of individuality – you will find this kind of breakfast in thousands of business hotels around the world.
Access to the V&A Waterfront is easy, even by foot.
A good hotel, where we would stay again if getting an adequate rate (just like we had this time).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that our team took the time to make u trip comfortable.
Please do not hesitate to book Southern Sun The Cullinan for your next visit to Cape Town.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is situated on the edge of the CBD and is right opposite the Cape Town International Convention Centre. It is also within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront which offers a great shopping experience. The recently refurbished rooms are beautiful with superb views. The buffet breakfast was delicious and catered for all taste buds!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarryReed, General Manager at Southern Sun The Cullinan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am glad you found our location suitable to your requirements, and I do hope that on your next visit to Cape Town you will make use of our services again.
Regards
Garry Reed | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun The Cullinan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun The Cullinan

Address: 1 Cullinan Street | Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8004, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun The Cullinan 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only The Cullinan Hotel offers views of all of the Mother City’s main attractions: Table Mountain, the harbour and ocean, the V&A Waterfront and the city skyline. Marble pillars and floors and lush furnishings, transport guests into a world of luxury complete with individualized four-star services. A pool and gym offer the perfect way to relax after a day of business meetings or sightseeing and the choice of bars and restaurants is sure to meet everyone’s tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun The Cullinan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun The Cullinan Hotel Cape Town Central
Southern Sun Cullinan
Cullinan Hotel Cape Town
Southern Sun The Cullinan Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun The Cullinan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.