We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonderful Cape Heritage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Heritage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Bree St, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The wonderful Cape Heritage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

Spent 4 nights at the Cape Heritage and would highly recommend it. The rooms are lovely and all very different, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is good for downtown Cape Town and the restaurants nearby are impressive. The staff organised tours for us and recommend places.

We also spent a few nights at the waterfront which although we enjoyed, was not as good as our cape heritage experience.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    112
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
95
401
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Located in a beautiful, lovingly restored late-18th-century building, the Cape Heritage Hotel is run by an extremely cheerful and helpful (and, in relation to the number of rooms, surprisingly large) staff. We enjoyed our large room which was full of character, and the complimentary full English breakfast. The bathroom facilities were also very good. The location is excellent, very close to the major sights in Cape Town but also fairly quiet. There is a wine bar in the same building but hardly any noise at night (although this might be different in the summer). Due to the weak rand, rates are very reasonable for what the hotel has to offer. If we ever return to Cape Town we will make sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

What an amazing hotel. This hotel lives up to its reputation on tripadvisor and is even better than what is portrayed on its website - Not only is it a charming establishment, the staff are really special in a relaxed elegant way. Other hotels should learn from this hotel. I will most definately be recommending it and will be staying there on my next visit. Heartfelt appreciation goes out to the staff for making our stay so special.

  • Liked — unique, well maintained
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

From beginning to end, the Cape Heritage Hotel was perfect. Making the reservation couldn't have been easier or more personal. We stayed at the hotel 3 different times during a 2 week trip to South Africa. Each time we arrived it was like arriving "home". Each person at the hotel was friendly, helpful, accomodating and caring. The breakfasts were overwhelming! There was free water, soda, and other drinks available around the clock as well as free internet access. Within our group we stayed in 5 different rooms, each decorated in a different style and each beautiful. Our favorites were rooms 113 and 114! I will tell everyone I know traveling to Cape Town to stay at the Cape Heritage Hotel.

  • Liked — The rooms were beautiful, the bathrooms were amazing, the people were amazing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

Cape Heritage is a home away from home. The staff made our family of 4 extremely welcomed from the moment we landed, up till we had to pack our bags and leave. They went out of their way to accomodate our requests (eg my brother wanted to get his hair braided, & most of the salons are already closed but Sam kindly arranged a hair stylist to our room at 6p on Sun evening-Thank you!). When i was ill, they called to make sure that i was fine & brought warm water up to the room. It's one of the finest and most sincere service I've ever received.

Aside from the outstanding service, the hotel location is very central, within walking distance to the shops & perhaps 5 min by taxi to the waterfront. Within the hertiage sq, there are several restaurants such as Africa Cafe (worth the experience). The rooms are also tastefully decorated - I had an african themed room!!

Capetown itself is an amazing place & Lesley/Karen from Amber Tour (referred by the hotel) really showed us the beauty of the city, cape penisula, winelands! The private tour took us to cape penisula on the first day, and the natural beauty of the coast backed by the mountains was picture perfect! In fact, Lesley timed it so well that we caught a really nice sunset setting into the water!! The 2nd day we explored the city & winelands, Karen was very knowledgeable & took time to explain stories behind the 'attractions'.

I definitely recommend cape hertiage as they've taken care of all our needs and made this trip for our family MEMORABLE!!

  • Liked — Outstanding Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

The Cape Heritage is a tough property to review. It's excellent, no doubt, but in a refreshingly unusual and special way. It's not the piece-parts - room, location etc. - that make this place remarkable (although those things are fantastic). Rather, it's the fact that this is one of very few hotels we've stayed at that has the "whole package" and creates a well-rounded experience.

If you choose the Cape Heritage, you'll find exceptionally comfortable beds (perfect pillows!), interestingly designed and furnished rooms (all unique and well thought out), warm public spaces, and tasty breakfasts each morning.

The defining element, which makes all of these things truly noteworthy, is the staff. The entire Cape Heritage team goes to great lengths to ascertain and deliver on the experience you want to have - not only within the hotel but also in Cape Town. They're not simply accommodating and polite. Rather, they offer very personalized service and attention, making you feel like you are among people who know you and who care about your visit. All of this occurs without it seeming uncomfortable or intrusive.

To be certain, for many people, visiting Cape Town can mean a great deal of traveling. One can be almost guaranteed a spectacular experience at the Cape Heritage.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Cape Heritage for 6 days. From start to finish it was an excellent and refreshing experience. Everything from the original booking, to the ride from the airport to the departure.
Nick and crew were extremely helpful with EVERYTHING. It actually felt like I was at home here.
The hotel is in the city bowl and is walking distance to many things. Great wine bar next door.
Rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious. This hotel gives the best bang for your buck no question.
The only negative - and this is not a big deal - the wireless internet was painfully slow.
We rented a car and drove around the Western Cape. The location of the hotel is so easy to get to when getting on or off the major highways.

I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone who plans to visit Cape Town. Next time I fly in from Canada I'm staying here.

Excellent job.

  • Liked — Service and great size rooms
  • Disliked — Slow internet access
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree St, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.