We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated and wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Heritage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Bree St, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated and wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

We stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon. We spent the first night in a Luxury room and then we were upgraded to the Suite for the rest of the stay as there had been a cancellation. Both rooms were beautifully decorated.

The staff were delightful - very relaxed, but very professional and they gave very useful tips on what to visit, where to eat etc.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

The only negative is that you can hear some noise from the street facing rooms and the tapas bar outside, but having said that we had no problems getting 10 hours sleep in every night!!

  • Liked — Decor, breakfast and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Street was a little bit noisy
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    112
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
96
403
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

We stayed for one night in a very large first floor suite. The accommodation, breakfast and service were all excellent. It is also very good value. I have added a photo of the room.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

My wife and I spent a week of our honeymoon in (and around) Kruger Park and then we spent a week here. Our experience was terrific and echoed that of many other reviewers on this site. The staff was extremely attentive and the accomodations fantastic--clean, comfortable, secure and charming. The breakfasts were terrific and nutritious (far better than the average "price includes breakfast" hotels) and the cappuccinos outstanding! There's even a nice little theatre down the street where one can grab a bite and see a show. It's not Broadway but it is fun. I won't repeat the glowing reviews but I will say that you cannot go wrong if you choose to stay at Cape Heritage Hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsbay, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

We stayed at this hotel last year as a 30th birthday surprise for my boyfriend. We'll never forget that birthday ! From the moment you arrive until you leave you are taken care of as if they've known you for years. The staff are simply amazing, (Sam for president!). Breakfast is an event of note. When I think of the Cape Heritage I can only smile and agree with all the other reviewers. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — The staff!
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

This place is as near to perfection as I've found. To begin with, the location is right near all the goings-on of downtown Cape Town, yet as soon as you step inside you feel like you're been transported to a private, stately home.

The service is impeccable, top-notch, and genuinely care about each visitor. The rooms are breath taking-- each one has so much detail and the beds/furniture look like something out of a design magazine.

The hotel has a charming courtyard with delicious restaurants in it--right in your own backyard.

Free DVDs, excellent free breakfast, a bed that looked like something out of a castle...I keep going back and please, if you stay anywhere--YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

*There is one bedroom that is closest to the restraunts which can be loud on weekend nights.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

We stayed at the Heritage after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we stayed for 4 nights in Feb 2007 and were not disappointed. This was our first time in CT and South Africa. The Hotel location is in the City Bowl (Downtown) area. You can stroll to the city centre shops and markets which are 2 - 15 mins away. We felt very safe walking around CT, and did not have any bother on our 3 week trip. The rooms are decorated very well and everything is to a high standard. It is an old building that has been very well restored. The service was excellent, we checked in early and were given a couple of rooms to look at before deciding on which one to take.

The staff are really helpful if you arelooking for ideas on what to do or see. They will recommend and book places to eat (there are lots nearby) and orgainse tours etc. Breakfast in the courtyard was nice in the mornings.

There are some lovely resuarants next door and it is great to have a nice meal and a bottle of wine then walk 30 metres to the front of the hotel. One of the best Hotels we have stayed at, but by no means the most expensive. Great value. There is a small car park next to the Hotel that we got our hired car into every day, around 20 rand per day. CT is quite spread out and a hired car proved very useful.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

We stayed at Cape Heritage in late January for my 50th birthday. Having read such good reviews on tripadvisor I didn't know how the place could live up to our high expectations ,but it does. The building ,rooms,beds are all great as described, but what made the place the best hotel I have ever stayed in was the attitude of the staff. The genuine warmth they displayed for the whole week we were there made the holiday. You might get more facilities in a bigger 5 star hotel but I doubt you would come near this level of personal service. In short if you are looking for a city centre hotel in Cape Town, this is the one. Plenty of good restaurants on the doorstep in the Square. I suspect that if Nick,Sam and the staff could do anything to improve your holiday experience they would spare no effort.
Alan and Jackie.Newcastle,England

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Heritage Hotel

Address: 90 Bree St, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Heritage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heritage Square in the heart of Cape Town, the Cape Heritage is a boutique four star hotel that is historic and contemporary; intimate and lively; and stylish and cozy. Originally built in 1771, the hotel has 17 individually decorated bedrooms, which not only retain the charm of the past but are also equipped with an array of modern comforts. The hotel opens out onto a courtyard that houses the oldest living grapevine in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.